Banana phone

The looming finals have definitely taught me that I’m good at a few things: cleaning, working out and baking. Studying? Not so much…

Eventually, I realized there was no more denying the facts. I had to get started! So, I pulled out my note cards, folders and books and got down to business. But, somewhere between reviewing the reign of Mao and learning about Martin Luther, I got a very important call.

It was the banana phone β€” There’s no ignoring the banana phone.

Me: Hello?

Banana Phone: Helllloooo! What’cha doing? Probably nothing, and that’s a good thing.

Me: Well, actually, I have a few finals coming up and I was trying to study…

Banana Phone: Study? That doesn’t sound like fun!

Me: It’s not really about ‘fun,’ it’s just something I have to do…

Banana Phone: I have a better idea. In case you can’t tell, I’m getting kind of brown. What would you think about some chocolate chip muffins?

Me: Those sound pretty good, but…

Banana Phone: No ‘buts.’ Just make ’em!

Me: But…

Banana Phone: Make ’em, make ’em, make ’em!

Me: (Sigh) Fine…

Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 C whole-wheat flour
  • 1/3 C all-purpose flour
  • 2 T oats
  • 1/4 t baking soda
  • 1/4 t baking powder
  • Pinch salt
  • 1 T unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 ripe banana, mashed
  • 1/4 C dark chocolate chips

Directions:

  • In a medium-sized bowl, mash the banana together with the sugar and applesauce.
  • In a smaller bowl, combine the flours, oats, baking soda, baking powder and salt.
  • Add the flour mixture to the banana mixture in three even portions, thoroughly mixing after each new addition. Before adding the final third, mix the flour blend with the chocolate chips. This will make sure the chips are evenly dispersed. Then add the final third of flour.
  • Spoon into a greased muffin tin, filling each slot about 3/4 way. Bake in 375 degree oven for 18-20 minutes.

Note: This is a small batch but could easily be doubled or tripled.

The batch came together really quickly and there was minimal cleanup. Plus, with a perfect combination of wholesome ingredients and chocolate, the muffins were fantastic study snacks! But, just to squeeze a little more nutrition into my day, I had a hodgepodge lunch…

Consumed: Carrots, artichoke hearts, spinach and artichoke hummus, whole-grain bread, wheatberry salad (deliciousness!) and nonfat vanilla yogurt with sunflower seed butter and a small sprinkle of granola.

That was made up of leftovers from a hodgepodge dinner I shared with Dan the night before…

Consumed: Mini-frittatas, wheatberry salad, bocconcini and tomatoes, artichoke hearts, spinach sautΓ©ed with garlic and olive oil, quinoa, spinach and artichoke hummus and whole-grain bread.

I picked up a few of the items from my grocery store’s gourmet salad bar, then I made a few more sides to complement it all. Now that’s my kind of semi-homemade dinner! Plus, I loved getting to mix-and-match, because all the flavors blended so well.

There’s nothing left to say, which, unfortunately, means it’s time to get to studying. Wish me luck!

Question: What are your favorite study snacks?

I usually like snacking as I go with some popcorn or other bite-sized treats.


17 responses to “Banana phone

Leave a Reply

