Win some, lose some

With the high of yesterday’s incredible cookies, I was flying on cloud nine.

“I can do no wrong,” I foolishly thought. But then, reality came and bit me in the butt.

Suffice it to say that, culinarily speaking, this wasn’t my finest day. I took one good, proven recipe added a new, seemingly good element and ended up with… Well, see for yourself.

Those are supposed to be cinnamon-sugar pretzels. Instead, they ended up a little too burnt and strangely green. Remarkably, they still tasted decent, albeit far from the desired result.

Note to self: Add cinnamon sugar after baking!

Fortunately, I did a half-batch of plain ol’, tried and true pretzels.

Dipped in crunchy almond butter makes ’em even better!

My other eats for the day were a lot lower on the risk factor, and fortunately turned out a lot more edible.

Breakfast:

Consumed: A hunk of cranberry and walnut bread with some crunchy almond butter. Some Kashi Go Lean crunchy cereal and a small Trader Joe’s blueberry yogurt.

Lunch:

Consumed: Pita crackers, Laughing Cow cheese wedge, an apple and a side salad with cranberries, walnuts and some raspberry vinaigrette dressing.

Dinner was an unpictured mishmash of roasted potatoes with cream cheese and some spared pretzels. I was actually more interested in saving room for dessert.

Consumed: Light pumpkin ice cream, a small bit of pumpkin cake and a little chocolate syrup drizzled on top.

In other news, I did cross a few more items off my Christmas shopping list. The only thing I risked there was my life — Seriously, I’ve never seen the parking lots so busy or the shoppers so tense. It’s almost like you’d think everyone had some big event coming up…

Sorry there isn’t more to thrill everyone with today. Anyone else have something exciting going on? Personally, I’m just excited for Dan to get to town on Sunday night!

10 responses to “Win some, lose some

Leave a Reply

