Gift of biscotti

I’ve professed my love for biscotti before.

I’ve also professed my love for Dan (many times) before.

I’m not sure, however, that I’ve professed my love for Dan’s family. His mom, dad and younger sister are so kind, welcoming and generous — Within a matter of hours of meeting them, I was talking to them like friends I’d known for years.

For those reasons, I am really looking forward to spending this Christmas with them in Kansas. Although I will certainly miss my parents and sister, it’s good to know that I’ll still be spending time with people whom I also consider to be family.

I only wish that I had more to repay their generosity. But, as a college student, my budget is fairly limited. Fortunately, there is one gift I know will enjoy: Biscotti!

Actually, it’s a tradition for me to bring them biscotti when I come for visits. I think this is a win-win, because they get some small token of my appreciation, while I get to try out new recipes. This time, I went with my current favorite combination of flavors…

Cranberry, White Chocolate and Macadamia Nut Biscotti

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 C whole-wheat flour
  • 1/2 C all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 C macadamia nuts
  • 1 t baking powder
  • 1/3 C sugar
  • 2 T brown sugar
  • 1/4 C white chocolate chips
  • 1/4 C dried cranberries
  • 2 T milled flax
  • 6 T water
  • 1 t vanilla

Note: You could probably swap the flax seeds and water for two eggs, but I haven’t tested that.

Directions:

  • In a small bowl, mix together flax seeds, water and vanilla. Set aside.
  • Using a food processor or blender, grind the macadamia nuts until medium-fine.
  • In a large bowl, mix the flours, ground macadamia nuts, sugars, baking powder, chocolate chips and dried cranberries.
  • Scoop a well in the center of flour bowl. Pour in the flax-seed mixture in. Stir or knead everything together. It should be crumbly, but sticks together.
  • Divide dough into two sections. Grease a cookie sheet and form each section of dough into a rectangle on the greased cookie sheet.
  • Bake for 20 minutes in a 350 degree oven. Remove and slice into long, thin cookie strips. Flip the cookies on their sides and space apart. Bake for another 20 minutes in the oven.
  • Remove and allow to cool for a few minutes on the cookie sheet before moving them to a cooling rack.

I just had to restrain myself from snaking on them all before getting to Kansas!

For as much as I love biscotti, I must admit that my gift was overshadowed by the one that my mom sent with me to give to Dan’s family: a Great Harvest gift basket. I would live on that bread if I could.

Question: Do you have any traditional snack/drink combinations?

I’m not really one for milk and cookies, but I do enjoy dipping this biscotti in coffee!

8 responses to “Gift of biscotti

Leave a Reply

