Clean eating

I can always depend on the holidays for providing a few things: time with family, ample relaxation and a lot of rich food.

This year, I certainly didn’t go overboard on sweets. Sure, there were the occasional bites of sugar cookies and slices of red velvet cake. But it wouldn’t be the holidays without indulgence, right?

Still, there is a point where I feel ready to get back to a bit cleaner, healthier eating habits. Apparently that point was today, because I opted for wholesome, nutrient-rich foods in almost all of my meals. The funny thing is this: I truly feel more energized and satisfied with these foods than any dozen slices of cake.

Breakfast:

Consumed: Great Harvest‘s Honey Whole Wheat bread with a sliced apple and a wedge of Laughing Cow Swiss cheese.

Dan’s sister got a few Jillian Michaels workout DVDs for Christmas. Because I was eager to do something with my legs, Dan’s sister offered to let me try out one of the videos. I opted for 30-Day Shred, Level 2 for a short, intense workout. Intense it was, too! That Jillian is a certified slave driver.

More than anything else, it just felt good to sweat a bit.

After showering up, Dan and I headed into Kansas City to take care of one big errand: getting my ring re-sized!

Apparently when Dan was buying my ring, he based the size on the old wives’ tale that ring size is usually equal to shoe size. Impressively that myth held pretty true, because the ring was only slightly large for my finger. Besides, I would much rather have had it too large to begin with than too small. I would have been sad if it didn’t fit on my finger during his proposal!

Lunch:

We knew the ring re-sizing would take some time, so we planned on dropping it off and then going for lunch. The jeweler was located near Houlihan’s, the restaurant we ate at the nigh before the half-marathon. We knew the food was good, so we decided to give it another go.

I went with a lunch combo of a salad and some veggie slider burgers.

Consumed: Spinach salad with blueberries, strawberries, kiwis, chopped hazelnuts and poppy-seed vinaigrette.

Consumed: One black bean and chickpea slider with cheddar cheese. Served with a side of asparagus.

While my meal was more than enough for my appetite, Dan’s portion of flatbread pizza was just a little too small. He was kind of disappointed about that…

No big deal, though, because I had enough to give him one of my sliders. By the time the waiter asked if we’d saved room for dessert, we were both able to confidently say that we were full…

Regardless, Houlihan’s gives away freshly baked chocolate chip cookies at the end of the meal. I’m certainly not one to turn that down no matter how many sweets I’ve had these past few days!

Serious recommendation to all future restauranteurs: If you give away cookies with every meal, I’ll love you forever.

Post-lunch, Dan and I still had some time to burn before picking up the ring. We decided to go by Cabela’s, which is where I gave Dan a gift card for Christmas. Even though it’s a definite “man store,” I also enjoyed looking at the displays.

One big thing that Dan and I have in common is that we’re both pretty outdoorsy. In fact, we are planning to go north for our honeymoon to do some hiking (although no real camping). With that in mind, it was fun for us to look through some of the hiking tools.

Finally, we got a call from the jewelry store that the ring was ready. For only having had the ring on my finger for a few days, I’d really grown used to it. I wanted it back!

My little bit of patience paid off, though, because the newly-sized ring fit much better. Although I missed it for a few hours, I’d miss it much more if it slid off my finger and I totally lost it!

Dinner:

By the time we’d finished all of our errands, it was getting late in the afternoon. We planned on meeting Dan’s family in Lawrence for dinner, so we decided to drive straight there and spend our spare time in town. Before we knew it, dinner time had rolled around and it was time to meet up.

We all decided on Zen Zero, a local Thai restaurant that also happens to be one of my favorites in town.

Consumed: Some kind of tofu, veggie and rice dish.

I can’t even describe all that was in the dish, but it all tasted amazing.

After dinner, we all walked down the street to see “Black Swan,” which I had long anticipated. Unfortunately, it was a bit more graphic than I expected. I wanted to see what would happen, but I didn’t want to sit through a bunch of uncomfortable scenes to get there. Ultimately, we decided to leave. I’ll look up the ended online and save myself the discomfort.

Besides, after a long day on the town, it was nice to get back to Dan’s and relax. Plus, that’s where the Moose Tracks and red velvet cake was. I’m not totally off sweets, after all!

Question: Do you wait until after New Year’s to “get healthy” or do you get back to healthy eating right after the holidays?

9 responses to “Clean eating

Leave a Reply

