Amateur at the gun club

What the difference a day can make…

Yesterday I woke up to groggy, foggy and plain ol’ unpleasant weather.

Although that didn’t seem to stop the cats from swarming me while I was attempting to take pictures.

(And when I say “swarm,” I mean swarm!)

I don’t blame them too much. It was a delicious bowl of oatmeal.

Consumed: 1/3 C oats with 2/3 C water, mixed with half of a banana and topped with a scoop of almond butter, granola and the other half of the chopped banana.

Anyway, by the next day, the sun was shining and the temperature was already up past 50 degrees by the time I woke up at 8 o’clock!

First things first, I had another cat-swarm free bowl of oatmeal.

Consumed: 1/3 C oats mixed with 2/3 C water. Topped with a scoop of peanut butter, some granola and half of an diced, baked cinnamon apple.

I would have loved taking advantage of the warmth with a run outside. However, some heavy gusts of wind deterred me. Instead, Dan and I went to the local gym where I logged some time on the treadmill as well as some leg work with the weight machines.

The reason Dan and I both work up “so early” was because there were big plans for the rest of the day: We were going to the gun club with the rest of his family!

The only problem was that if I thought the wind was going to be a problem for a run, it was definitely going to be a problem for shooting. Fortunately that was no problem for Mr. Sharp Shooter.

(Yeah, I’m talking about him.)

He was nice enough to pass some tips along to me…

For the record, Dan’s not a hunter and I’m certainly not into killing. However, shooting is about way more than those aspects. Just like golf, it’s an enjoyable hobby when practiced safely. My favorite part of it is going after clay pigeons. Can you spot it?

After some basic target practice, we went out to the actual course, which has 11 stations. Each station had two (in my inaccurate phrasing) pigeon slingers. That means that the pigeons can come from any direction and at any speed. The shooter just has to be ready for it!

For being an amateur, I was actually a pretty good shot.

Dan’s even taken to calling me “Annie Oakley.” No big deal.

Although I must give a great deal of credit to his coaching…

After hitting all the stations, I came in dead-center of the group. I sure felt good… Although my shoulder is sore from all the gun kicking!

Dan and I made a quick turn-around after the gun club to head into Lawrence and look at possible reception sites. I think we’ve decided on what we want to go with, but no final decisions have been made.

The drive to Lawrence was actually multipurpose, because Dan and I both had separate plans with friends for dinner. While he split for burgers and drinks over some games of pool with friends, I met my friend Mandy for dinner at Esquina, a fantastic Mexican place in town.

Consumed: Three small tacos. One was “Peruvian Potato,” one was with tofu and one was with pumpkin and butternut squash.

My favorite part about Esquina is how inventive and successful the flavor combinations are. Pumpkin tacos? Delicious! Who would’ve guessed?

During dinner I learned that Mandy had never been to 3 Spoons before, so I knew that much be immediately addressed. I know: I’m such a good friend.

After frozen yogurt and girl time, Mandy headed back home so I met up with Dan and his friends for a little while. No one stayed out too late, because tomorrow’s the big New Year’s Eve!

Questions: Have you ever shot a gun? Do you have New Year’s plans?

Although I am excited about the New Year, honestly tomorrow’s not going to feel like much of a holiday; Just one year ago, my dear, compassionate and wonderful cousin James died suddenly of an aneurism. He is in my heart all day, every day.

 

9 responses to “Amateur at the gun club

Leave a Reply

