Getting over it

In terms of my resolutions, today was moderately successful.

Strength training? ahem.

Re-evaluating sweets? Good.

Nurturing relationships? Good, as is always the case when I spend time with Dan.

But to really review, let’s go back to the beginning. It was a lazy morning, meaning I didn’t get up for breakfast until later than usual. Dan and I were planning on going out to lunch, so I didn’t want to fill up too much on breakfast. Still, I’m not one to totally skip…

Consumed: 1/2 C Honey-Nut Cheerios, 1/2 C Kashi GoLean Crunch and some skim milk.

After a little while of spending time with Dan, reading the paper and catching up on morning show news, Dan and I decided to head out for lunch.

Lincoln doesn’t have a ton of great culinary options, but the town does have a solid, small selection of quality joints. One of my favorites among them is “Fireworks,” although I must admit that I am swayed by the fresh cornbread the restaurant serves.

The place also serves one my favorite house salads in town, which — coincidentally — also involves corn. This is Nebraska after all…

Consumed: Spring lettuce mix, fresh string beans, roasted corn, croutons, onions and tomatoes. All dressed with red wine vinaigrette. Served with a side of sautéed broccoli (and an extra hunk of aforementioned cornbread!).

A little bit of digestion later, Dan and I decided that going to the gym would be our best workout option for the day. Before going, though, I told him that I was going to run three miles — That meant I had to do it!

Okay, before that comes across as strange, allow me to explain. I’ve been struggling with iron deficiency since getting back from Germany. In addition to making me tired, this deficiency makes it hard for me to keep my endurance up. I dealt with this to the best of my ability while preparing for my half-marathon, but even with extra strong supplements, I still wasn’t feeling my best.

Since that time, my running motivation has only gone down. Sure, I’ve still been running an average of every other day. But those runs are neither far nor fast. Because I’ve also been slacking on strength training, I know my overall conditioning has gone downhill — And I can’t fall back on my anemia anymore.

That’s why in addition to continuing to take my iron supplements, it’s also important for me to work on my overall conditioning.

Back to that run: It was neither incredibly fast or incredibly pretty, but I did it. Although I’m proud of that, I know it’s equally important for me to do some strength training tomorrow.

There! I said it! Now I have to do it!

As I mentioned, the iron deficiency also makes me pretty tired. During school, my for structured sleep schedule helps. But during break, I’ve been enjoying the chance to take frequent, long naps. For example, after snacking on a couple post-workout clementines, I took a little two hour-ish doze.

By time time I woke up, it was time to eat!

Consumed: Salad mix with a little sliced avocado and raspberry vinaigrette. A small ciabatta roll with Laughing Cow French Onion cheese and some grapes.

The avocado was actually left-over from some guacamole that my mom made. Although I didn’t want any guac, I did have a few tortilla chips that were sitting out.

A while later, my sweet tooth kicked in. Instead of grabbing something totally blah, I assessed my nutrition for the day and realized I’d been low in fruit and dairy. So, I decided to slice half a banana into a small cup of pudding. That way, not only did I satisfy my craving, but I also added to my nutrient bank!

Plus, I gave the other half of the banana to Dan. If sharing food doesn’t count as “nurturing the relationship,” I don’t know what does!

Questions: How do you get yourself motivated to workout? Have you been watching any college bowl games?

I’m good about being self-motivated, but I also like working toward a goal. I’m excited for some races this spring!

Tonight I’m watching the Sugar Bowl with Dan and my parents. Currently my mom’s yelling “Soo-ey!” I’m worried…

4 responses to “Getting over it

Leave a Reply

