Up in the air

Can Trader Joe’s do no wrong? Seriously, I think I’ve loved everything I’ve tried from the place!

The obsession du jour was frozen steel-cut oats. All it requires is popping the frozen hunk ‘o oats in a bowl, microwaving it for two minutes, stirring and microwaving for another minute. Voila!

Consumed: One package steel-cut, maple oatmeal, which was topped with a scoop of almond butter and a sprinkle of Kashi GoLean Crunch cereal.

After breakfast, I left Dan back at the home to head out on some errands with my mom. We did some casual shopping as well as some serious business, aka PICKING UP MY WEDDING DRESS! Eeek!

Actually, I’m as shocked as anyone. As I mentioned before, the dress wasn’t supposed to come in for 15 weeks, because I needed a special order to get the right length. A few days after ordering the dress, we even got a card from David’s Bridal saying it may be a little later than we originally thought. Then, to throw a total curveball, I got an email saying the dress was already in! I called the store to make sure it was true — Seemed too good to believe!

When I verified the dress had indeed arrived, I was eager to pick it up and keep it in the security of a garment bag in my closet until the time for alterations arrives.

Anyway, we didn’t get done with the errands (and an obligatory dress re-trying on) until past noon, so I knew Dan would be hungry at home. Heck, I was hungry! So, my mom and I swung by Jimmy John’s to pick up a “Big John” for Dan and a simple veggie sandwich sans mayo for me. Plus, I felt like “going big,” so I ordered a jumbo pickle on the side. A girl’s gotta live…

I forgot to take a picture, but for the sake of visualization, it looked something like this…

[source]

After doing the typical digestion-thing, I gussied up and went over to the YMCA. There, I logged 45 minutes on the elliptical, which went by extremely fast thanks to Ellen and a new magazine! Then I did a good 20 minutes of leg exercises, including lunges and squats with free-weights. Feel the burn!

Back home, I met back up with Dan again for some “kick back and relax” time, which ultimately turned to nap time for me.

A shower later, Dan and I went out to dinner with my parents and sister at Hu Hot, a Mongolian-style grill. If you are unfamiliar with the concept, Mongolian grills are set up so that you pick up raw veggies and protein from a salad bar-esque section. Then, you add any kind of oil (i.e., teriyaki, soy sauce, ginger sauce, etc.) and hand it over to the grill masters who saute it up on a big, round, fire-heated surface.

I opted for a tropical mix of spinach, carrots, mushrooms, water chesnuts, pineapple and tofu with some teriyaki and ginger sauce. Then, I topped it all with a slight sprinkle of crushed peanuts and a small side of rice. It was love at first sight… Too bad my camera didn’t get to take a look.

Because Dan and I are heading back to Kansas tomorrow, my mom and I had to get serious about some wedding planning tonight. First, we looked at the guest list, which is still kind of up in the air. We were at least able to get enough of an idea off of it to figure out how much the reception would realistically cost — Let me tell you, it adds up FAST!

Moving on…

Friday Fragments: (It’s been a while!)

With the start of every new year, it seems like diet advice comes pouring in by the truckloads. Unfortunately, much of this advice comes from unwise sources…

Yet, just people imagine that celebrity relationships will last, people also imagine that the diet “tricks” will work. Sigh.

Playing off of that, a recent ABC article was published, advising “Which Celebrity Diet You Should Follow.” Among the suggestions was Gwyneth Paltrow’s cleanse, Liz Hurley’s vodka-for-wine swap and Kate Moss’ idea, which is best simplified as “just don’t eat.” Sigh.

And here I was hoping that in this new year, people would realize that short-term, unmaintainable diets only lead to short-term, unmaintainable results. Sigh.

What do you think? Are there any benefits to hearing about celebrity diet trends?



4 responses to “Up in the air

Leave a Reply

