Hit me with your best shot

I would say, “Here in Kansas it snowed today.” But, because it apparently snowed in the greater United States, I guess that’s not too noteworthy.

Even though a glimpse of the lovely snow-cover made me itch to get outside, it seems that some others were just as eager to get inside.

Not as though I can blame Snowy too much… (Yes, that’s her name. Isn’t it ironic?) It was nice to stay inside with a warm bowl of cereal and a steaming cup of coffee.

Consumed: 1/3 C oats cooked with 2/3 C water, “whipped” with half of a thinly sliced banana. Topped off with a spoonful of peanut butter, a little granola and a sprinkle of cinnamon.

After fueling up on breakfast, the next task of the day was deconstructing the Christmas tree. Then, Dan bundled up and lugged the packed-up tree to the garage. I just felt so bad for him being outside in the cold all by himself, so I decided to pull some boots on and join him.

Plus, I had to see if it was good packing snow.

One snowball was thrown and it was on.

After a few snowballs, I abandoned the packing method and opted to just toss armfuls of snow toward Dan.

Pretty good strategy, if you ask me.

However, I can also attest that wearing a v-neck shirt is not a good snowball fight strategy.

Ultimately, I found that the very best strategy was just running inside and locking Dan out in the cold. (Insert evil laugh.)

After a few minutes of mocking him was the indoor warmth, I decided to let him in and sit down for lunch.

Consumed: Vegetable and lentil soup with a little cheese and a big whole-grain bread husk.

The snowball fight worked up such an appetite that I went back for some big seconds on the soup. Really, though, the soup served dual purposes: It was filling and warming. Perfect for a snowy day!

No joke, but I spent the next hour kind of aimlessly wandering around. I can see just how easy it would be to go stir crazy!

Finally, I found some direction with deciding to do some Pilates. I went through my standard half-hour-ish workout and called it good.

The rest of the afternoon was pretty laid-back. Mid-afternoon I decided to scan the pantry to see if I could whip up a warm treat. To my delight, I found a box of cake mix, a can of pumpkin and some spices. With just those few ingredients, I had everything for one of my favorite desserts.

Four-Ingredient Pumpkin Muffins

Because I never keep things totally simple (even my own recipes) I divided the batch into pumpkin-pecan and pumpkin-chocolate chip muffins. One for a snack, one for dessert!

I don’t know if I’ll ever learn my lesson, but baking before dinner is usually a bad idea. In this case, I limited my “taste testing” to a muffin… But that’s not counting the extra licks of batter. Whoops!

Fortunately, I did still have some appetite for dinner.

Easy Egg Salad

Ingredients:

  • One hard-boiled egg
  • Two pickle spears
  • One celery stalk
  • 1/2 T light mayo
  • Salt and pepper

Directions:

  • Chop up the egg, pickles and celery into similarly sized pieces.
  • Mix in a bowl with the mayo and season with salt and pepper.
  • Serve with bread or atop some lettuce.

Like I said with the muffins, one for a snack, one for dessert. Legit, right?

Now, I’m settled down watching the BSC National Championship. I don’t have any big preferences, but I guess I’m cheering for Oregon. Either way, I just think it’s cool that neither team was ranked in the top-10 during the pre-season. That means there is hope for Kansas next year!

Questions: Have you ever seen “The Shining?” I always think of that movie during stir-crazy days!

5 responses to “Hit me with your best shot

Leave a Reply

