Fiancé-approved stuffed mushrooms

According to Dan, I’m “nice,” “smart” and “funny.” But, really folks, who are we kidding…

I can truly summarize why he likes me in two words: stuffed mushrooms. (Dan just said, “That’s actually not true.” Sure, that’s what he wants me to think.)

Stuffed mushrooms have actually been in our relationship for a while. Back when Dan and I first started dating and I wanted to prove that I could cook, I asked him to challenge me with a cooking task. When his first request was for stuffed mushrooms, I knew he and I were truly a match meant to be.

Since that time, there have been a lot of stuffed mushrooms and a lot of relationship development. Is there really a correlation? I can’t say for sure, but I do have my theories…

Anyway, the real gist of it is this: If you want to impress someone, you might really want to consider trying these mushrooms. And, just because I want everyone to find happiness, I’ll be extra nice and walk this out step-by-step for all you lovebirds.

Stuffed Mushrooms

Can these stuffed mushrooms win over potential fiancées?

I can’t say they would… But I also can’t say they wouldn’t.

Ingredients:


  • 8 oz. baby bella mushrooms (white button caps would work, but bella mushrooms have more flavor.)
  • Half of a red onion, diced
  • Two cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/3 C crushed tomatoes
  • 1/3 C Panko bread crumbs
  • ~1/2 t thyme
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • ~1 T Olive oil
  • 1/4 C Italian-blend cheese + 2 T extra

Note: I included “The Flavor Bible” in the background, because I seriously use it for everything. Best kitchen book ever.

Directions:

  • Create a mushroom assembly line. First, clean the mushrooms by gently wiping the caps with a damp wash cloth. (Never run the mushrooms under water!) Then, carefully wiggle the stems out from the caps. Set the stems in a bowl and place the caps side-by-side on a lined baking sheet — Keep the hallow sides facing upward.

  • Warm up ~half a tablespoon of olive oil in a small skillet over medium heat.  Meanwhile, dice the mushroom stems. Add the diced mushroom stems to the heated skillet, tossing to coat in the olive oil. Saute the stems for about one minute.
  • Add the diced onions to the skillet. Drizzle in another ~half tablespoon of olive oil. Shake the skillet to coat the mushrooms and onions in oil. Saute for another minute or two. Then, add the minced garlic and cook for another minute.
  • Turn down the heat to medium-low and stir in crushed tomatoes. Allow to simmer for about one minute. Stir in the thyme, salt and pepper. Then, add the Panko bread crumbs. Immediately turn off the heat and toss in the 1/4 C cheese.
  • Scoop the tomato mixture into a bowl. Getting back to the mushroom caps, pack the tomato mixture into the open caps, noting that some caps will be bigger than others. In my case, I had to go back and really stuff the mushrooms!

  • Finally, sprinkle the mushroom caps with the two tablespoons of extra cheese.

  • Bake the stuffed mushrooms in a 400 degree oven for 8-10 minutes.

The very last step is serving them to a hungry date/boyfriend/fiancé/husband… But make sure to set a few aside for yourself!

Consumed: Stuffed mushroom caps atop some romaine.

In other news, I learned another very important lesson today: There is a reason NOT to take food pictures outside during the winter cold.

I could keep writing, but I would rather you do me a favor and make these mushrooms right now.

Questions: Do you have a particularly impressive dish? What is your significant other’s favorite meal?

12 responses to “Fiancé-approved stuffed mushrooms

Leave a Reply

