Cornbread + The living dilemma

I truly believe that I eat good, interesting and healthful meals everyday. Otherwise, how could I justify having a food-centered blog?

Nonetheless, there are some days that the eats are just far-and-away incredible. Today was one of those days…

Things got kicked off on a high-note with some pumpkin overnight oats!

Consumed: One container of non-fat, vanilla Greek yogurt, mixed with 1/4 C oats, ~1/4 C pumpkin puree and a drizzle of maple syrup. Topped in the morning with dark chocolate granola.

Remarkably, there was no trace of nut butter in my oatmeal! I barely even noticed it’s absence, though, because the bowl was so loaded with other bits of deliciousness.

After a busy morning of errands with Dan (I’ll get to that later), both he and I were ready for lunch.

Consumed: Hummus and cheese Panini with a side of carrots and half an apple.

Of course, the star of the show was pretty obvious!

Sandwich was made by pressing Italian-blend cheese and thinly-sliced onions between whole-grain bread. After melting the cheese, I opened the sandwich up, smeared on some hummus, arranged some lettuce, closed it back up and enjoyed!

Just to make sure I was meeting my calcium quota for the day, I finished off the lunch with a dark chocolate pudding cup. Because, you know, I’m so concerned with my calcium.

A little while after eating (and digesting), Dan and I went over to the recreation center. I started off with 30 minutes on the elliptical, which Dan apparently wasn’t interested in. After that, Dan and I met back up for another half an hour-ish of leg-centered weight lifting and ab-work.

For some reason, by the time I made it back home, there was only one thing on my mind: cornbread. Try explaining that one to me…

I just didn’t want any ol’ cornbread, though. I wanted to come up with my own recipe! So, I started by scowering the web and picking parts of different recipes. Then I did some reorganizing until I had ingredients that I knew would still work together for a good batch.

Then I got down to business on making my very own…

Light-on-the-Pumpkin Cornbread

Trust me: This is all it’s cracked up to be!

Get it? It’s got a lot of cracks on the top… Oh my, Dan is SO rolling his eyes right now.

Ingredients:

  • 1 C cornmeal
  • 1/2 C all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 C whole-wheat flour
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 1 t baking powder
  • 3/4 t salt
  • 1/4 t cinnamon
  • 1/4 C honey
  • 2 flax eggs (or whole eggs)
  • 1 C almond milk (or skim milk)
  • 1 t vinegar
  • 1/4 C pumpkin
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1/2 C frozen sweet corn

Directions:

  • First, mix up the flax eggs and buttermilk mixtures. For the flax eggs, mix 2 T ground flax seeds with 6 T water. For the buttermilk, mix the milk with vinegar.

  • While allowing the flax seeds and buttermilk to set, measure out the dry ingredients into a large bowl. That includes the cornmeal, all-purpose flour, whole-wheat flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and cinnamon.
  • Then, add the flax seed mixture to the larger buttermilk bowl. Stir in the honey, pumpkin and olive oil.
  • Build a well in the center of the dry mixture. Pour the wet mixture into the hole…

  • Stir it all up, but don’t over-mix. Then stir in the frozen corn and pour the batter into a greased 8×8 in. pan.

  • Bake the cornbread in a 350 degree oven for 25-30 minutes, or until a wooden skewer comes out clean.
  • Optional-but-suggested: Stir up some honey butter by combining two-parts butter to one-part honey. This is great smeared on top, because the cornbread isn’t overly sweet.

After baking it all up (and taking a few pictures), I packed it all back up to bring over to Dan’s house for dinner. I didn’t know what was going to be served, but to my luck, Dan’s mom fixed me up some black bean tacos that paired excellently with the cornbread!

Last note of the day: Dan and I booked our apartment for next year! We did some searching and comparing, but ultimately got really lucky on getting all of the amenities we wanted.

The biggest dilemma about living was actually about when to move in. Around this college-town, apartment rents traditionally roll over at the beginning of August. But, because Dan and I are getting married mid-July, we didn’t want to just go home to different places after the honeymoon.

Once again, to our luck, we managed to nab a place that will allow us to move in at the beginning of July. That way, we can get all settled before the wedding and just get to come to our together-home after the wedding!

Question: Would you live with a partner before getting married?

13 responses to “Cornbread + The living dilemma

Leave a Reply

