Courtside

I made a promise that I’d keep this fast, so here goes…

Yesterday, the family came to town. In-laws got to meet. Kids got to mingle.

Eventually, that led to some of this…

With him…

And her…

And, finally, a little bit of 3 Spoons frozen yogurt. Basically, all the good stuff.

After a sleepover with that girl (my sister), I was early to squeeze in a workout — I knew it was going to be a busy day, so I had to fit it in when I could!

While I was running and ellipticalling, I left my sister sleeping. When I got back, I whipped up a quick batch of pancakes so tha I could greet her with breakfast in bed…

Pumpkin Pancakes

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 C whole-wheat flour
  • 1/2 C all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 t pumpkin pie spice
  • 2 t baking powder
  • 1 flax egg (alternatively, one whole egg)
  • 1 C soy milk (alternatively, skim milk)
  • 2 t vanilla
  • 2 t maple syrup
  • 1/4 C pumpkin
  • 1/4 C mix-ins (I used chocolate chips!)

Directions:

  • In a medium-sized bowl, mix together flours, pumpkin pie spice and baking powder.
  • In another bowl, beat together flax egg, milk, vanilla, maple syrup and pumpkin.
  • Stir the milk mixture into the flour mixture. Mix in add-ins and then allow batter to rest for 10 minutes.
  • Heat skillet to medium-high. Grease pan and pour on 1/4 C batter. Cook until pancakes until bubbling on one side and then flip and finish cooking on the other side.

I made a sandwich of my pancakes with some vanilla yogurt and granola. Oh, my, gosh — So good!

After (Marian) rising and (me) shining, we met back up with my parents and Dan for a trip down to the good ol’ Allen Fieldhouse, aka home of KU basketball.

Without boring anyone with too many details, because my dad grew up in Lawrence, he still has many friend and a few connections with KU. One of those friends was able to swing my family a few complimentary courtside seats, as well as passes for eight to the formal reception room.

Before the game even started, Dan’s family and my family gathered in the reception room for a light lunch.

Consumed: One large cheese ravioli, house salad, fruits and veggies with dip.

There was also some time to peruse the athletic museum in front of the fieldhouse. I love the museum because, in addition to good facts, there are a lot of fun, interactive features, such as seeing how your height measures up to the heights’ of KU’s great players…

Me…

Dan (who was on the phone)…

Then the fieldhouse started rockin’, so we knew the game was about to begin — Time to find the seats!

Did I mention we were courtside? It was in-sane! We even had our own waitress (as well as the threat of getting landed on by a basketball player)!

Even better was the fact that KU was playing Nebraska. Although my family lives in Nebraska and my dad is a professor at the University, we are loyal to the Jayhawks. Still, I have to give Nebraska credit: They sure gave KU a run for their money!

Fortunately, KU pulled through when it mattered and we won yet another game, extending out record streak of home game wins in the NCAA.

Plus, I got to see it with my family. What more can I ask for?

Questions: Are you a basketball fan? Do you have a favorite team?

Going to KU, “liking basketball” is pretty much a requirement. And, uhm, the answer should be obvious. (:

By the way, looks like people like Option A in my vote for choosing my save the date card!

9 responses to “Courtside

Leave a Reply

