Quick treat

Another day, another item marked off the wedding planning checklist. Things are definitely coming along!

I’m also excited to get past some of the more major, more serious bookings (such as the reception, caterer, photographer, etc.) and just really focus on the fun details, such place settings and music playlists.

Because school is also starting up next week, I’m also feeling a big push to get the big things done. During any other year, a five-week break would be too long… This year it’s almost too short!

Anyway, with such a busy day, I was aching for a no-fuss, delicious treat to cap off the night. immediately my thoughts turned to the can of pumpkin I had sealed up in the fridge. See, funny things happen when I open up a can of pumpkin…

Suddenly, the squash finds its way into cornbread, pancakes and — now — pudding. (Note: I just realized I made a totally different kind of pumpkin pudding back in November!)

Unlike the other recipes, this one doesn’t require heating the oven, measuring ingredients or waiting on bake time. Instead, it offers instant gratification, which is a perfect way to top off a long day.

Easy Chocolate and Pumpkin Pudding

Ingredients:

  • 1 container of dark chocolate pudding (I used sugar-free)
  • ~ 1/3 C canned pumpkin
  • Sprinkle of pumpkin pie spice
  • ~ 1 t maple syrup
  • Optional toppings (I used some chocolate granola)

Directions:

  • Scoop the pudding into another small bowl.
  • Fill the now-empty pudding cup with pumpkin. Mix in the pumpkin pie spice and maple syrup.
  • Add the pumpkin mixture to the pudding. Swirl everything together and add toppings.

I almost feel like Sandra Lee guilty calling this a “recipe.” But, I sure as heck don’t feel guilty about eating it — And I wasn’t the only one eyeing it…

Questions: Do you have any non-recipe recipes? What do you like to eat as a nighttime treat?

I usually go rogue on my entrée recipes, especially with dishes such as pasta or stir-fries, which are hard to get wrong.

At night, I almost always need some kind of chocolate. It just wouldn’t seem like a complete day otherwise!

9 responses to “Quick treat

  • whatkateiscooking

    Sandra Lee type recipes are fine if they involve pumpkin and instant gratification in my book 🙂

  • alex

    I love the picture…my dog always happens to sneak into my food pictures!

    Congrats on getting stuff checked off the wedding list!!!

  • movesnmunchies

    o this looks great! my fav nightime treat is SO werid.. i have a bowl of rice puffs drizzled with agave. then on the side i have peanut flour dough (jus mixed with water) and one of my fudgies drizzled with sf maple syrup.. it totally does not sound good.. but all together you got chocolate, crunch and pb!

  • fitchocoholic

    I usually finish off a night with some sort of chocolate, or pb or both!

  • christina

    instead of non-recipe recipes, i do a lot of snack plates where i just throw a bunch of random stuff on a plate and eat it. it makes absolutely no sense and i like it.

  • adventuresofpretendcook

    What a great looking recipe! And any recipe where I don’t have to turn on the oven is okay by me. 😉

  • kissmybroccoli

    Most all of my recipes start with sauteed onion and garlic in oil and then I just add this and that and call it a meal! When I know I’m going to post a recipe, I have to remember to slow down and measure things out. Also anytime I make up a new sandwich I feel so silly typing out a “recipe” for it!

    Your pudding looks great! I love chocolate with pumpkin!

    I’m not much of a late night snacker, but I need a little something, I usually go with fruit and/or yogurt.

  • CaSaundra

    So glad to hear everything is coming together for the wedding! I am sure it’s going to be amazing, and I can’t wait to see how everything plays out. Speaking of pumpkin, I need to restock ASAP!

  • Pumpkin overload? «

    […] But, lately, desserts around my house have been orange, orange and orange. It may be my favorite color, but even I know it’s a bit over-blown to have pumpkin-related recipes three times in five days. […]

Leave a Reply

