Pumpkin overload?

When I was running on the treadmill today, I had the first “thank goodness tomorrow’s Friday” moment I’ve had in more than a month. The strangest part about that is that I don’t even start school tomorrow!

Although most of KU will be back to class tomorrow, I’ll be enjoying a few more days of break. No worries, though, I’m not starting the semester by playing hooky — I only have classes on Tuesdays and Thursdays! Nonetheless, I am glad that tomorrow is Friday. There’s just something about Friday’s (whether during school or not) that is just special. Agree?

Anyway, I’ve been taking full advantage of the final few days of break. For example, yesterday I continued on with wedding registration by hitting up Target. There, my goal was to “fill in the spaces” with items such as vacuum cleaners and food processors. (Note: I SOOOOO want a food processor!!!!! I hope that doesn’t come across as too dramatic…)

I’d say that the little trip was a success — I even registered for a few items that I didn’t know I needed! (Hello, free weights and board games!)

Riding my registering high, I invited a couple of friends over for dinner, even though it had been one-step down from blizzarding since noon…

My friends were brave enough to deal with the storm for the promise of “create your own pizzas,” which I prepped by making my pizza dough, setting out a few sauces and putting together a few toppings. Right when the guests arrived, I popped the dough into the oven to cook on one side. Five minutes later, my guests got to top their own pizzas.

Plus, while the dough was rising, I had time to mix up a batch of peanut butter, chocolate chip cookies and arrange a vegetable-and-hummus platter.

Considering that we got about six inches of snow in an equal amount of hours, it was incredible to spend the night hunkered down in the house, chowing on some pizza and talking about KU basketball for three hours straight.

Fast-forward to this morning, when I had an interview in Kansas City for a summer internship. Thanks to Dan’s expert driving skills, I was able to make it to the interview with time to spare. (Although I didn’t go in too early. That’s just taboo.)

Thirty minutes later, I had the internship secured and yet another thing to look forward to this summer!

Back safe in Lawrence, I logged that aforementioned time on the treadmill as well as a little bit of relaxation time. Dan was going out to dinner to celebrate one of his friend’s birthdays, so for the first time in a while, I was on my own for the meal. Although I always, always love Dan’s company, this gave me the chance to bust out the tofu to try Emily’s “healthy peanut sauce and tofu marinade.”

Consumed: Peanut-sauced tofu and stir-fried vegetables and noodles.

Holy deliciousness. I knew combining tofu and peanut butter is good, but this is even one step up! I swear, those are just two of the best ingredients around…

Which leads me to another contender in the “best ingredient” contest: pumpkin.

But, lately, desserts around my house have been orange, orange and orange. It may be my favorite color, but even I know it’s a bit over-blown to have pumpkin-related recipes three times in five days.

That’s why I waited a couple of days before introducing pumpkin blondies.

Pumpkin Blondies

By making wholesome swaps that actually accentuate the flavor, these blondies are like indulgence in a healthy package!

Ingredients:


  • 1/4 C buttery spread
  • 1/4 C applesauce
  • 1 C brown sugar
  • 1 flax egg (can substitute one egg)
  • 1/2 t vanilla
  • 1/2 t pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 t baking powder
  • 1/8 t baking soda
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1/2 C whole-wheat flour
  • 1/2 C all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 C pumpkin
  • 1/3 C cinnamon chips

Directions:

  • In a small bowl, mix up the flax egg (1T milled flax + 3 T water). Set aside.
  • In a large bowl, cream the butter, applesauce and brown sugar.
  • Add the flax egg to the sugar mixture. Also mix in vanilla and pumpkin.
  • In a separate bowl, combine the pumpkin pie spice, baking powder, baking soda, salt and flours.
  • Add the sugar mixture to the flour mixture. Combine everything and then pour into a greased 8×8 inch pan.
  • Bake in a 350 degree oven for 30-35 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean.
  • Allow it all to cool before cutting into squares and eating.

Orange’cha glad I waited to share that recipe?

Questions: If you are married, what are some unique items that you put on your registries? If you’re not married, what would you definitely want to include/hope to get?

14 responses to “Pumpkin overload?

Leave a Reply

