Modesty, schmodesty

I like to think I’m a pretty modest person. In fact, it’s one of my favorite things about myself.

But, there are some situations when modesty is kind of pointless.

For example, I’m not modest in talking about how I have the best fiancé ever.

He works hard during school and memorizes chemical names that might as well be foreign languages to me. Then, he turns around during the weekends and works hard with a part-time job.

Aside from his incredible work ethic, he is also caring, witty and extremely helpful with taking care of my car. (You’re supposed to change windshield wipers? News to me…)

But, because he’s so modest, he would never admit those things. So, I do that for him.

He also doesn’t bake cookies. So, I do that for him, too.

Double Chocolate and Orange Cookies

For as long as I can remember, I’ve gotten a Ferrara Chocolate Orange in my Christmas stocking…

Although I love these and would be crushed not to get one, I’m also not big on sitting down and just eating it. Instead, I like to create alternative solutions for the orange that still allow me to savor the flavor.

This year, I came up with double chocolate and orange cookies.

Ingredients:

  • 1 C dark chocolate chips
  • 4 T margarine
  • 1 t orange extract*
  • 1/3 C whole-wheat flour
  • 1/3 C all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 t baking powder
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1 T flax meal + 3 T water (can substitute another egg)
  • 3/4 C brown sugar, packed
  • 1/2 t vanilla
  • 1 chocolate orange, roughly chopped

*If you don’t want to buy orange extract, I’d suggest substituting the zest from one large orange. But, because I didn’t try this, I can’t guarantee how the flavor would compare.

Directions:

  • In a microwaveable bowl, combine the cup of dark chocolate and margarine. Heat in 30 second intervals, stirring each round, until chocolate is melted and smooth. Then, add in orange extract and stir to combine.
  • In a medium mixing bowl, whisk together flours, baking powder and salt.
  • In a large mixing bowl, cream together the flax meal, water, egg, brown sugar and vanilla.

  • Next, add the still-smooth chocolate to the sugar mixture. Stir until combined.
  • Then add the flour mixture to the sugar mixture in two separate sections, stirring to combine. Finally, mix in the chopped chocolate orange.
  • Drop batter by rounded tablespoon onto baking sheet, spacing about 2-3 inches apart.
  • Bake in a 350 degree oven for 6 minutes. Rotate the baking sheet (turning the back to the front) and bake for another 6-8 minutes, until the tops of cookies begin to crack. Note that the cookies will still look a bit doughy, but this is alright.
  • Allow cookies to cool on the baking sheets for about 10 minutes, then move to cooling sheets.

To be blunt, modesty also has no role in describing these cookies: They are simply amazing, wonderful, incredible…

Chewy, gooey, delicious…

But, because the cookies can’t talk and would never admit that themselves, I do that for them.

Question: What aren’t you modest about?

I think there is a difference between being immodest and being confident. For example, it’s a good thing to be confident about your body — No shame in knowing you look good!

12 responses to “Modesty, schmodesty

Leave a Reply

