Dark mornings

Jeez, I almost forgot how dark winter mornings can be! I guess that’s what five weeks of lazy relaxing break does to a person — I don’t think I’ve seen 7 a.m. since last year!

I’m getting back into the swing of things fast, even if that means resetting the lighting on my camera…

This is better…

Consumed: 1/3 C oats cooked in 2/3 C water. Immediately stirred with 1/8 C peanut flour and ~1 T maple syrup. Cooled slightly, then mixed with one non-fat vanilla yogurt containerAll topped with a little granola!

By the time I made it through my bowl of oatmeal and the first few segments of The Today Show, the sun had come out…

Which also served to give me energy to tackle some wedding-related details.

Does it seem to you that most of my time is taken up by wedding stuff? Well, that would be because, lately, it has been.

But, that’s all going to change tomorrow when I go back to school! After five (!!) weeks off for break, I’m almost not sure I’ll remember how to do all these “school things.”

Raise my hand when I have a question? I’d rather just blurt it out…

Don’t talk in class? But how am I supposed to know what the other students are writing?

Wake up while it’s still dark to get to class? But my breakfast pictures won’t turn out so pretty! (Although something tells me that my professors aren’t going to be very accepting of that excuse.)

The real challenge about getting back to school is actually going to be getting back on a schedule. Lately I’ve been enjoying random workouts at my whim, such as today’s 11 o’clock trip to the gym for the elliptical, sit-ups and push-ups. Then, I got to enjoy a warm bowl of soup in the comfort of my house…

Consumed: Homemade tomato soup with whole-grain bread.

My good-but-not-too-filling lunch was followed up with a little sweetness…

Consumed: Leftover half slice of bread with dark chocolate sunflower seed butter and dark chocolate pudding with a little granola sprinkled on top.

With all that food fuel, I regained my focus to do some more organizing and planning. Later on, my future mother-in-law and I went over to an appointment with a wedding consultant in town. The woman we met primarily helped us go through some invitation options, but she also helped talk us through a few of the wedding details. It mostly helped reinforce my self-confidence that I’m doing a pretty good job.

After the 90 minute meeting, Dan’s mom dropped me off at his place so that he and I could eat dinner with him. However, something about being surrounded by 50 scholarship hall guys makes me feel kind of strange about pulling out my camera. Trust me, though, you’re not missing too much by my lack of pictures: It was just a simple dinner of salad and cornbread.

Yet, for as simple as it was, I managed to make a total mess by splattering some raspberry vinaigrette all over my white shirt. If you squint your eyes and turn sideways, it’s almost like it was supposed to look like that. But, because I realistically don’t think too many people walk around like that, I think I’m just going to bleach the shirt.

Anyways…

To round out the night, Dan and I went back to my place so I could put some treatment on my shirt and we could watch T.V. However, that T.V. watching turned into an impromptu nap as both Dan and I fell asleep on the couch for a while! Fortunately, we woke up before sleeping the night away (which I only know because the same Law and Order episode was on when I woke up as when I fell asleep…).

Now, I really have to go to sleep so that I can be on my best behavior for class tomorrow — I am supposed to shout and run around the room, right?

Question: Did you ever get nervous before a new year of school started?

In elementary school, I remember how big of a deal it was to find out who my teacher and classmates were going to be for the next year — Those factors could either make me or break me!

Side Note: As I was writing this, there was a story on the news about a tractor-trailer that overturned and released about 50 piglets, which caused chaos in town. Maybe that’s a reason to become a vegetarian — It keeps traffic moving!

10 responses to “Dark mornings

Leave a Reply

