Can’t we compromise?

Tonight, I was faced with a real dilemma: Write a full, passionate blog-post that did justice to my exciting day OR finish reading Descartes’ “Discourse on Method.”

I thought about it. I considered the options. I even turned to a real source in solving dilemmas…

Which is also known as my homework for a journalism class titled, “Ethics and Media.”

But, when neither Immanuel Kant nor John Stuart Mills’ philosophies satisfied me, I decided to go with my own favorite philosophy: Follow your heart, but aim for compromise.

That’s why I’m speeding through this little post with the intention of still getting to reading. Ready, set, GO!

Breakfast:

Trust me, there is more deliciousness to this little gem than meets they eye. Then again, what could possibly be bad about combining my two favorite types of meals: breakfast + cookies. (You don’t participate in the standard “cookie meal?” What a pity…)

Consumed: 1/3 C oats mixed with ~1 T sunflower seed butter and ~1/8 C milk. All was crumbled together and formed into a patty shape. Topped with a little jelly and frozen blueberries. Then, all was left in the fridge overnight and topped with a sprinkle of granola in the morning.

Workout: I met up with my friend Mandy to go to the gym

  • Speed-walk a warmup (~1 mile)
  • Jog (~1.5 miles)
  • Leg strength: squats, lunges, leg press, etc.
  • Abdominal strength: straight and lateral sit-ups with a medicine ball, plank, extensions with an exercise ball, etc.
  • Cool-down walk (~.5 miles)

Snack: I got done with workout with about two hours left until lunchtime — I just knew I couldn’t wait that long! So, I opted for a “just right” balance of carbs and a little protein (from the soy milk)…

Consumed: Small bowl of Kashi “Heart to Heart” cinnamon cereal with soy milk.

Lunch: Even with my snack, by the time lunch rolled around I was ready to eat!

Consumed: Two slices of whole-grain bread with roasted red pepper hummus. Served with sides of brussels sprouts and non-fat blueberry yogurt with a little granola (I’m a crunch addict!).

Without a doubt, the best part of the meal was the brussels sprouts, which I made by steaming a sauce-free package, then dressing the sprouts with a little olive oil, lemon juice, sea salt and pepper. Love, love, love.

Sadly, as part of my compromise, I’ll have to save the exciting second-half of my day until later. Be sure to check back!

Question: What kind of compromises do you make in your life?

As much as I don’t love admitting it, I sometimes compromise a little study-time for other parts of life (working out, time with friends, blogging, etc). I’ve made it through so far, though!

3 responses to “Can’t we compromise?

Leave a Reply

