Letting go

Long before, “hoarding” became a buzzword, I was a regular little packrat. Whether it was wrapping paper, school assignments, old toothbrushes, I just hated throwing anything away.

Thankfully, this little hoarding habit has gotten better throughout time, but I still do have to keep myself in check every now and then. Usually this means setting some time aside to do a total room sweep to clear out the junk.

First in the trash was my five-year-old wristlet from J.Crew. As evidenced by the lack of strap and bounty of holes, I’ve definitely held onto this thing for way too long…

Next up were semesters-full of notebooks and torn-up folders. I held onto these, because I told myself I’d go back and reference the old notes. But, something tells me I’ll never need to look up the details of my Chinese history class β€” And, if I ever find myself with a gun to the head, forced to talk about Mao, I would just pull up Wikipedia. So, goodbye notes…

Finally, I relegated a few piles of clothes from the closet to temporary storage before a final stop at Goodwill. All that went: items I hadn’t worn in more than a year, items that don’t fit and items that I must have been blind when I bought.

With my room cleared, I was ready to get some lunch and continue with my de-hoarding. This time, it was a can of black beans and some frozen sweet corn on the chopping block…

Mexican Poached Eggs

Ingredients:

  • 1 C frozen sweet corn
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1/2 C vegetable stock
  • 1 can black beans (drained and rinsed)
  • 1 C raw broccoli
  • 1/4 t onion powder
  • 1/4 t cumin
  • 1 T lime juice
  • 1/4 C cheddar cheese
  • 1 whole egg (more would be possible, if distributed)
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • A drizzle of olive oil

Directions:

  • On medium-high, heat enough olive oil to cover the bottom of a pan. Add in the frozen corn and garlic and cook for 2-3 minutes. Then add in vegetable stock, black beans and broccoli. Turn down heat to medium-low and allow stock to summer. Continue simmering, stirring often, until the broccoli is tender.
  • Stir in onion powder, cumin, lime juice, salt and pepper. Allow the flavors to combine together for 1-2 minutes, while stirring.
  • Crack an egg onto of the mixture.

  • Place a lid on the top, so that the egg steam-cooks. Cook for two minutes, then remove lid. Shake the pan a bit to see how well cooked the egg is. Replace lid for about another minute, recheck the egg and repeat until egg is at desired firmness.

  • Top it all with cheese and season with more salt and pepper, as necessary.

Now that I have this recipe down, I don’t think I’ll have such a hard time parting with my other cans of black beans. (Wink, wink.)

Questions: Are you a pack rat? Do you have any interesting collections?

6 responses to “Letting go

  • fitchocoholic

    I’m not a pack rat, but both of my grandmothers, and my aunt, are! Oh and my mom, too! She has a chest full of things that my sister and I used when we were babies….like bibs, and our first bracelets and stuff like that!
    I looove poached eggs! my favorite! Your recipe looks really tasty!

  • kissmybroccoli

    I used to be such a pack rat! Like you, I held onto old school notes and books because I just KNEW I’d need them for reference in the future, but one day I woke up and realized that was never going to happen. Why spend over an hour sorting through old papers to try to find notes that you “think” are in there when a quick Google search can be before you in minutes?!

    Food on the other hand is a different story! My cabinets, fridge, and freezer are almost always packed so full that you have to worry about things falling out on your head! My problem is that I have so many ideas for recipes that when I see an item in the store that catches my eye, I automatically throw it in the cart! Then months later I find it in the pantry and forgot what I had planned to do with it!! I’m really trying to get better though…I’ve told myself no more nut butter purchases until I’m down to at least 2 jars! πŸ˜‰

  • Jess

    I’m definitely a pack rat, I stink at throwing things out.
    I have a collection of bells from places I have traveled!

  • Jess

    Wow, that dish looks SUPER good!! YAY for organization as well πŸ˜€

  • Entrees «

    […] Mexican Poached Eggs […]

Leave a Reply

