Snowmageddon

I am glad to say that I have (so far) survived what is now being called “The Blizzard of 2011.”

[source]

The funny thing is that, based on appearances this morning, it didn’t seem as though the storm was actually going to be too bad…

Still, with my first official college snow day called, I got in the snow-loving mood by enjoying a bowl of overnight oats.

Consumed: Non-fat vanilla yogurt mixed with 1/4 C oats, topped with a little coconut butter and left in the fridge overnight. Topped in the morning with a few crumbled pecans.

This breakfast brought me right back to the German’s chocolate cake I made for Dan’s birthday — Just minus the chocolate. It also reminded me just how much I love pecans. Seriously, they may be my favorite nuts in terms of flavor.

With breakfast taken care of and no immediate homework to attend to, I spent the morning keeping warm in the kitchen. My idea was to create some granola-topped cookie bars. Unfortunately, this was one instance when my vision did not come to fruition. Instead, I ended up with what I like to call “gooey chocolate balls.”

Although they are still delicious, it was just so much of “I’m determined to make this work” kind of thing, that I don’t think I could even recite a legitimate recipe for them — I’ll keep you posted if I recreate!

I am pleased to report, though, that Lola didn’t seem to mind my little kitchen mistake…

Although I think she was just happy to not be in the same situation as our neighbors’ dog…

While all this was unfolding, Dan was able to make his way across campus to my place. Good thing he did it when he did, because by lunch there was more than half a foot of snow with 30 mph winds.

It was also good that I had my kitchen well enough stocked to get us both through lunch.

Consumed: Romaine salad with leftover Moroccan quinoa bake.

The rest of the afternoon consisted of me doing random bouts of Pilates, Dan doing homework…

And the snow doing its blizzard-y thing.

Having exhausted my whole Pilates routine, I convinced Dan to join me for a game of “Up Words.”

Seriously, snow days and board games go together like peanut butter and jelly. It was the perfect way to pass the time during our lazy afternoon!

By the time that night began to fall, the snow total was up to an estimated 13 inches with the extreme winds making for feet-high snow drifts.

Basically, there was no way we were going to be able to pick any extra ingredients up for dinner. Fortunately, I had enough in my pantry to pull together a still delicious and filling meal, complete with homemade rolls!

Easy Garlic Rolls

Ingredients:

Rolls:

  • 1/2 C milk
  • 1/4 C water
  • 2 T margarine
  • 2 t fast-rise yeast
  • 1 1/2 C all-purpose flour, divided
  • 1/2 C whole-wheat flour
  • 2 T sugar
  • 1 t salt
  • 1 t Italian seasoning
  • 1 egg

Garlic Spread:

  • ~1 T margarine, melted
  • 2 diced garlic cloves
  • 1 t parsley
  • 2 t parmesan cheese

Directions:

  • In a small sauce pan, mix the milk, water and margarine. Heat on medium-high for about two minutes, stirring continuously, until the margarine is melted and the mixture is warm.
  • In a large mixing bowl, combine the yeast, 1 C all-purpose flour, sugar, salt, Italian seasoning and egg.
  • Add the milk mixture to the flour mixture and combine with a whisk. When that is thoroughly mixed, add in 1/2 C all-purpose flour and 1/2 C whole-wheat flour. Mix with a large spatula or briefly knead, if necessary.
  • Cover the dough and allow it to rest for just 10 minutes.
  • Grease an 18-hole muffin tin, then evenly divide the dough among each hole. Cover again and allow the dough to rise for another half an hour.
  • Bake the risen dough in a 400 degree oven for 10-15 minutes, until tops are browned.
  • While the rolls are cooking, mix the margarine, garlic, parsley and cheese. Spoon the hot butter mixture evenly over the warm rolls. Allow it all to cool and then remove the rolls from muffin tin to serve.

Even though the rolls were a big success unlike some of my other ventures (cough, gooey chocolate balls, cough), the star of the show was definitely pesto Quiche.

This was actually the second time in less than two weeks that Dan and I have had this. For an omnivore boy and a herbivore girl, it’s just a great meal option to satisfy us both — I totally recommend it to anyone!

Now, we are enjoying watching the Jayhawks whip up on the Red Raiders — An event that is made all that much better by the fact KU administrators have already called off school tomorrow!

Questions: Now is actually your time to ask me a question! Either leave a comment with the post or send me a question at my formspring account. I’ll do a Q&A post as soon as I have enough to include!

7 responses to “Snowmageddon

Leave a Reply

