Life can be tough

Remarkable how two snow days in the middle of the week can really throw a girl off when Friday rolls around!

I was ready to dive back into classes when suddenly the weekend was upon me. Sigh. Life can be tough.

Add to that the fact that I don’t even have classes on Friday, so I had nothing to do except wake up and enjoy a hot bowl of oatmeal. Life can be tough.

Consumed: PB & jelly oats made with 1/3 C oats cooked with 2/3 C water and a little cinnamon. Stirred with 1 T crunchy peanut butter, frozen blueberries and a little grape jelly.

So, instead of going to classes, I let my breakfast digest and then I went to the gym with my friend Mandy. Some sprinting, jogging and lunging later, it was time to go home — Or rather, time to pick up Dan so that he and I could go to lunch.

Get this: Dan even let me choose where we were going. Life can be tough.

It can also be tough when I get a ton of choices with Jason’s Deli’s salad bar.

Oh my gosh. Guess I’ll just have to make a big, delicious salad. Life can be tough.

Consumed: Romaine, peas, artichoke hearts, mushrooms, Israeli couscous, bean salad, roasted red pepper hummus, sweet bell peppers and a little toast on the side.

With a whole Friday afternoon ahead of us, Dan and I desperately searched for something to do. I could come up with nothing, so he suggested a game of pool.

“Great,” I thought. “Mark another loss for me in the playbooks.”

Seriously: Mark another loss for me in the playbooks. Life can be tough.

Fully exhausted from the game, Dan and I parted ways. I immediately went home and napped for what was supposed to be 45 minutes, but turned into double that. Dang it. Life can be tough.

After that point, I had no choice but to get up and get ready for the night. I even tried to take a picture of my outfit, but I had to battle off a raging puppy.

After multiple attempts, I finally got the rager to stay out-of-the-way while I got a picture. Life can be tough.

Finally having the picture, I was able to go over to Kansas City with Mandy to spend some time relaxing at her parents’ house before heading out to dinner at a new Asian restaurant. Life can be tough.

Fully hungry, Mandy and I even talked ourselves into a starter of vegetarian lettuce wraps, which looked slightly unappetizing but were incredibly delicious.

We also decided to take the team approach on some more food.

First up were some spicy red pepper dumplings.

In addition to that, we also had some tofu in a black bean sauce with vegetables and brown rice.

Really, what’s a girl supposed to do with all that deliciousness? Life can be tough.

Question: What is or isn’t tough about your life?

It is also kind of tough that I’m not getting many questions for a Q&A post.

6 responses to “Life can be tough

Leave a Reply

