Happy birthday, Marian!

It’s Sunday, February 6, 2011. That could only mean one thing…

The Super Bowl? That’s just secondary to my fabulous little sister’s 17 birthday!

Sometimes I have to remind myself that she is “just 16” or now “just 17,” because she is already such an amazing, mature young woman. Funny how far we’ve come since violent Christmas pictures!

I know it seems a little backward, considering that I’m the older one, but there many ways in which I strive to be more like my sister. That’s because she’s smart, funny, gorgeous, outgoing…

I would keep going, but it’s a long list. Instead, I’ll just summarize by saying that my sister is incredible!

In other news, it’s very hard to take an artistic shot of a bowl of cereal and a simple orange.

Instead, I shall describe it with words: I love having a bowl of Kashi Go Lean cereal with cold almond milk. Paired with a sweet, juicy orange, it is a great way to start the morning…

That is, if you don’t follow breakfast up with a great workout at the gym. Cereal never sticks to my ribs! Fortunately, I had some delicious left-overs waiting in the fridge. Although the flavors of black bean sauces and peanut sauces didn’t naturally pair with a fresh apple and cup of pudding, it all worked well enough to satisfy my stomach!

Consumed: Brown rice with veggies and tofu and mixed sauces of spicy black bean and peanut. Served with a freshly sliced apple, which was sprinkled with cinnamon, and a chocolate pudding cup.

Something about finishing meals with a little sweetness, just always makes me so happy. Maybe it’s because that sweetness also comes with a little bit of inspiration…

Cute, isn’t it?

My afternoon was also kind of cute. By that I mean I got to go grocery shopping, bake some muffins (to be featured tomorrow) and make dinner for my hard-working man.

Served up was a new-age Mexican feast with some black bean and corn salsa and the main dish of Sante Fe Foldover — Which, probably isn’t too Mexican, on second thought.

Regardless, it still was delicious!

I also served it up with a new side dish, just for the occasion!

Slightly Spiced Carrots

Ingredients:

  • 2 C carrots, cut into 1/2 in. segments
  • ~1/2 T olive oil
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 t paprika
  • 1/4 t cumin
  • 1/2 t coriander seeds
  • ~1/2 T lime juice
  • ~1/2 T honey
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:

  • In a steamer basket, steam the carrots for 5 minutes, or until al dente.
  • Meanwhile, using a small non-stick skillet, heat the olive oil, garlic, paprika, cumin, coriander and salt on medium-high.
  • Drain the carrots, reserving about 1/4 C water. Add the carrots to the seasoned skillet. Stir everything together to evenly coat the carrots in the seasoning.
  • Add in the lime juice and honey. Saute everything for 5-10 minutes, until carrots are cooked to desired level of tenderness.

Although the carrots were great, I would love an excuse to bake a cake. Marian, want to come visit?

Questions: Do you have siblings? Are you close to your brothers or sisters?

Marian, who is three years younger than me, is my only sibling. But why would I need more brothers and sisters when the one I have is so great?

 

11 responses to “Happy birthday, Marian!

Leave a Reply

