I’m full of B.S.

“Waking up in a fog,” usually doesn’t have positive connotations. However, it today’s case, I found the fog to be rather beautiful and mysterious.

It’s rather London-esque to me…

Although I’ve never been to England, so I don’t really know.

Even though I didn’t have school, I still got up early to get started on a big to-do list. But there’s no way to get started when you’ve got a grumbling stomach!

Consumed: Two thin, toasted slices of Dakota bread, smeared with almond butter, topped with a sliced banana and sprinkled with cinnamon.

After breakfast, I got down to some homework. Before too long, I felt my tired eyes glazing over, so I knew I had to get my blood pumping — And, because I downloaded a couple of new songs from iTunes last night, I was extra motivated to go for a run and rock out! A few (foggy) miles later I was feeling great and was ready to pick my studying back up. This goes to prove once again that you don’t need to take a nap to get some energy. Even doing something as simple as taking a 10 minute walk can really help with focus!

That focus was just what I needed to get me through the rest of the day, because I was on the go from the second I stepped out of the shower until I was back home for dinner. That meant that mini-meals were my friend — Not such a bad thing, either, because mini-meals = many meals! (Is it even worth saying, “pun intended”?)

Exhibit A:

Consumed: One orange.

Although I opted for the orange as a quick, easy snack, it ended up being pretty complicated to eat…

Most seeds ever!

I figured the fog would have cleared up by the time I walked to campus mid-morning, but that’s not exactly how it worked out…

During my usual lunch-time, I was working on an assignment in a computer lab. Therefore, breaking out my yogurt and hummus would have been frowned up. I knew I could sneak a granola bar, though!

Dan’s always giving me a hard time when I talk about how much fiber something has. What can I say? Fiber can be delicious when disguised as a peanut butter granola bar!

As soon as I wrapped up my computer assignment, I had to head straight over to the union to meet with a girl for a story I was working on. I got there a little early, so I was able to snack on the second half of my lunch.

Consumed: White bean and basil hummus with carrots for dipping. Also a non-fat, vanilla yogurt with chocolate protein granola.

Two hours of interviewing later, I was ready to go back home so that I could finally take a break get back to homework. Sigh.

Seriously, though, snacks do help make homework go by more quickly!

Consumed: Whole-grain Goldfish with some dark chocolate-covered pretzel thins.

Regardless, I was still happy to break for dinner — Especially because dinner included Brussels sprouts (and you remember how much I love Brussels sprouts, right?). I mixed my cooking method up a bit by sauteing the B-sprouts with some simple seasonings.

Garlic Sautéed Brussels Sprouts

Ingredients:

  • ~10 Brussels sprouts
  • Olive oil
  • ~1/2 t buttery spread
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:

  • Halve the Brussels sprouts and remove the outer layer, if dirty.
  • Heat ~1/2 T olive oil in a medium-sized saute pan on medium-high heat. Carefully place the Brussels sprouts, inner part facing down. Cook for 1-2 minutes, then stir them up, lower head to medium and continue cooking for 5-10 minutes (depending on size and desired tenderness).
  • One minute before removing from heat, add the buttery spread, garlic, salt and pepper. Mix everything together.
  • Remove from heat and serve!

Loving them as I might, Brussels sprouts do not a full dinner make. (Did you follow that one?)

To compensate, I also made an easy vegetarian mushroom gravy, which I served over a slice of whole-grain bread.

Vegetarian Mushroom Gravy

Ingredients:

  • 1 container baby bella mushrooms, sliced (alternatively, white button)
  • Olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • ~1/2 t buttery spread
  • ~1 T whole-wheat flour
  • ~1/3 C almond milk
  • Pinch of thyme
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:

  • Coat a medium-sized skillet with olive oil. Heat to medium-high.
  • Add mushrooms to skillet. Stir everything up to coat in olive oil. Allow to cook for 3-5 minutes, tossing occasionally. By this point, the mushrooms should have reduced in size and should be very tender.
  • Stir in the garlic and buttery spread for one minute. Then, continuously stirring, add the flour. Stir for 30 more seconds and then add the milk while whisking constantly.
  • Continue whisking the mixture until it reaches desired consistency. Add in the thyme, salt and pepper just before removing from heat.

For being primarily vegetables, this dinner really filled me up — So much in fact that I dare say I was full of B.S., which stands for Brussels sprouts, of course!

Questions: What is your favorite vegetable? Are you more of a mini-meal or three-meals-a-day type?


18 responses to “I’m full of B.S.

Leave a Reply

