Everything works out

There was a time that I was convinced that if I really, truly wanted something, then that something would find a way to allude me. Whether it was making the cheerleading team, getting into a certain college, having some boy ask me out or making perfect cookies, things just never worked out how I wanted them to.

Frustrating as this was at the time, I can now see that everything happens for a reason.

Not making the cheerleading team? That allowed me to get involved in cross country, where I made my best friends.

Not getting into a certain college? I was able to go to KU, a school that has always had a very special place in my heart.

Not having some boys ask me out? There was really only one boy who I wanted to ask me out. He did and now we all know how that worked out

As for not making the thick, chewy cookies that I so desired? Well, that worked out pretty well in time, too.

Adapted from “Muesli Chocolate Chip Cookies.”

These are so full of texture, that I almost cannot contain my excitement!

Ingredients:

  • 1 C granola (I used chocolate protein granola)
  • 1/2 C whole-wheat flour
  • 1/4 C unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1/2 t cinnamon
  • 1 t baking powder
  • 1 T milled flax seeds + 3 T water (alternatively, one egg)
  • 3 T peanut butter
  • Scant 1/4 C honey
  • 1 t vanilla
  • ~1/4 C dark chocolate chips

Directions:

  • In a small bowl, mix the milled flax seeds with the water. Set aside.
  • In a medium-sized mixing bowl, combine the granola, whole-wheat flour, coconut, salt, cinnamon and baking powder. Toss in the chocolate chips.
  • In a larger mixing bowl, combine the flax seed mixture with the peanut butter, honey and vanilla.

  • Slowly add the granola mixture to the honey mixture, stirring as you go.

  • Once everything is thoroughly combined, place rounded spoonful of the dough onto a lightly greased baking sheet, keeping each spoonful of dough about 1-2 inches apart. Using a fork, gently flatten the cookies.
  • Bake in a 350 degree oven for 9-12 minutes, until it the cookies feel semi-firm to the touch and are lightly browned.

So to heck with the high school cheerleading team, the college that didn’t accept me and the boys who never asked me out โ€” Life is great now and that’s all that matters.

But having comforting cookies doesn’t hurt.

Questions: What things have alluded you? Was there ever anything that disappointed you that you are now grateful for?

13 responses to “Everything works out

Leave a Reply

