Do what you gotta’ do

To heck with “rolling out on the right side of bed.” The REAL predictor of how good my day will be is how great my morning workout is — That being said, I started off  the day with a speedier-than-usual three miles.

It was going to be a good day!

The only problem was that I had a long, long day of classes to deal with. Count ’em: From 8 a.m. to 9-10-11-12-1-2-3-4 and 5 p.m. NINE hours! Seriously, how am I expected to absorb that much knowledge at once?

HOW?

But, I dealt with it. I took notes. I asked questions. I did everything that I was supposed to do to make my parents proud. I guess there are some things you just gotta’ do.

After it all, I dragged myself home with the main goal of getting my mind off school — And the best way for me to do this is spending some time in the kitchen.

Crunchy Dark Chocolate Granola

Ingredients:

  • 2 C oats
  • 1/2 C whole-grain cereal, crushed (I used Trader Joe’s fiber twigs, which also included dried berries)
  • 2 T cocoa
  • 1 T brown sugar
  • 1 T honey
  • 2 T water
  • 1 T canola oil
  • 1/2 t vanilla
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1/4 C dark chocolate chips

Directions:

  • In a small mixing bowl, combine the cocoa, brown sugar, honey, water, canola oil, vanilla and pinch of salt.
  • In a large bowl, combine the oats and cereal. Pour the cocoa mixture over top of the oats and toss everything to evenly coat the oats.
  • Line two baking sheets with foil and then evenly spread the granola on the sheets.
  • Cook in a 350 degree oven for 10 minutes. Stir everything up and add in the dark chocolate chips. Bake for another 10 minutes.
  • Allow to cool thoroughly before storing.

Holy deliciousness! I love having light, sweet granola to add to bowls of oatmeal, yogurt and smoothies.

There was only one problem… It wasn’t until I finished creating the granola that I was struck with a very important thought: “Lent begins next week and I’m giving up chocolate. That means I have to polish this all off in just seven days!”

Oh, well, like I said, there are some things you just gotta’ do.

Questions: What kind of things do you have to do that you’d rather not? What kind of things would you like to do but never get the chance?

15 responses to “Do what you gotta’ do

Leave a Reply

