My pancake correlation

There is a very ironic poster hanging in my doctor’s office that shows the correlation between amount of bacon consumed and overall health.

[source]

Although I don’t really see the humor, I can relate to the sentiment because I feel almost the same way about pancakes — I’d eat them every day if I could! Somehow, I manage to refrain from making pancakes every day, instead saving them for special occasions.

Like Sunday mornings.

Consumed: Whole-grain pancakes with banana slices, vanilla yogurt, almond butter and a little maple syrup.

Although I have a great stand-by pancake recipe, I wanted to mix things up a bit this morning. I would have searched around some more, but my grumbling stomach was telling me to start cooking! I ended up going with a recipe for whole-grain buttermilk pancakes from “Liv Life.”

The flavor of the cakes was good and I especially liked the addition of flax meal. But, the cakes were much thinner than my usual variety.

I didn’t complain too much, though.

With my pancakes all stacked, I crawled back to my room and enjoyed breakfast in bed — Oh, the luxuries of Sunday mornings!

Once breakfast was done, plates and pancakes were replaced with pencils and papers. Unfortunately, Sunday’s also mean getting serious about homework! I’m the type who likes to keep moving and keep busy, so my easy course load this semester is throwing me off a little bit. I keep feeling like I should be doing more than I am! I guess I’m account for that by scattering things about and telling myself I’m being productive…

After a while of non-homework, I made a little visit to the gym to catch up on a magazine and log some time on the elliptical.

Home again, it was time for lunch. This also means time for a confession: I’ve been making different versions of the same egg dish all week. Apparently I’m in love with eggs + goat cheese + roasted peppers!

Consumed: Two egg whites + one whole egg, scrambled with diced roasted peppers and goat cheese. Served with one whole-wheat tortilla and baby carrots.

Lunch-time dessert was a special little treat that was left over from a dinner party Dan and I went to the night before…

Chocolate Macaroons

Recipe adapted from “The Cookie and Biscuit Bible.”

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 C + 2 T dark chocolate chips, divided
  • 1 C almonds, ground
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1/4 C sugar
  • 3/4 C powdered sugar
  • 1/2 t vanilla extract
  • 1/2 t almond extract
  • Additional powdered sugar for dusting

Directions:

  • In a small, microwaveable bowl, cook 1/4 C dark chocolate chips for 30 seconds. Stir, cook for 30 more seconds, stir and allow to set for one minute. If there are still clumps, cook for another 30 seconds, repeating until chocolate is smooth. Set aside.
  • Clean and wipe a medium-sized mixing bowl totally dry. Whisk the egg whites until they form stiff peaks, about five minutes.

  • Gently fold the sugar, ground almonds, vanilla, almond essence and cooled melted chocolate into the airy egg whites.
  • Chill batter in the refrigerator for 10-15 minutes.
  • Meanwhile, line two baking sheets with parchment paper and heat the oven to 300 degrees.
  • Place teaspoonfuls of dough onto baking sheets. Lightly dust with powdered sugar and bake for 20-25 minutes until just firm. Allow to cool on a wire rack.
  • When cookies cool, melt the remaining 2 T dark chocolate chips. Drizzle melted chocolate over the cookies.

I loved how these cookies were simultaneously crispy and chewy — The almond flavor just took them out of this world!

Although the cookies were a hit at the party last night, I’m definitely glad there were some left over for me!

Questions: Did you have a “special-occasion breakfast” when you were growing up? Do you now?

My mom always made us chocolate chip pancakes for birthdays, first days of school and big test days. Clearly I still like my pancakes!

13 responses to “My pancake correlation

Leave a Reply

