Charmed

T-minus two days until I give up chocolate for Lent… I am officially in a crunchy dark chocolate granola frenzy!

Example #1 was breakfast this morning. At first, it looks like an innocent batch of oats in a jar. But, the jar is really just masking a generous topping of granola!

Consumed: 1/3 C oats cooked with 2/3 C water. Scooped into a nearly empty jar of chocolate sunflower seed butter, stirred with milled flax seeds and blueberry jelly. Topped with granola.

A treadmill run, homework and laziness later, it was time for more granola lunch.

Consumed: Some (not so good) steamed vegetables with a light sauce. Tofu and edamame wrap. Non-fat vanilla Greek yogurt with layers and layers of granola.

As much as I really, truly like the granola, the star of this show was the protein wrap!

Powerful Protein Wrap

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 C tofu, cubed
  • 1 T peanut flour
  • 1 T teriyaki sauce
  • 1 t soy sauce
  • 1 T water
  • 1/4 C frozen, shelled edamame, steamed
  • Whole-wheat wrap (I used “Flatout,” my all-time favorite)

Directions:

  • After cubing the tofu, sandwich it between a few layers of paper towels and press to absorb the liquid. Cover with a pan and allow the liquid to continue absorbing.
  • Meanwhile, whisk together the peanut flour, teriyaki sauce, soy sauce and water. Mix peanut sauce with drained tofu and steamed edamame.
  • Evenly spread tofu mixture on a greased baking sheet and bake in a 400 degree oven for 15 minutes. Stir and cook for another five minutes, if necessary.
  • Warm the tortilla for 15 seconds in the microwave. Place the tofu mixture in the middle and roll up like a burrito.
  • Place the wrap, seam-side down on a non-stick skillet that has been heated to medium-high. Press down with a spatula for one or two minutes, until tortilla is lightly browned. Flip and repeat. Slice and serve!

It’s should actually be noted as impressive that I didn’t add granola to that wrap! Ok, now I really, really don’t want to talk about granola any more. Time to stealthily change to subject… Now.

I’m a sentimental kind of girl. I cherish photographs, home videos and mementos as reminders of all the blessings I’ve been given.

I think this is also why I so enjoy writing: Not only does it offer relief to my current thoughts and emotions, but it is also a semi-permanent record of lessons I’ve learned (and should always remember). Unfortunately, my multiple journals aren’t very convenient for toting around whenever I need a pick-me-up. That’s why I’m also a fan of my charm bracelet.

Through both gifts and personal purchases, I’ve been building my bracelet for the past 10 years. In other words, I first started collect charms when I was a pre-teen girl and have continued all the way up through my engagement. Each with charm that represents an important event, memory or stage in my life. Here are a few of my favorites…

Car Key Charm

This charm was a gift from my family for my 16th birthday. Although I loved the charm, I think I was a little more infatuated with the car itself!

Running Shoe Charm

The meaning of this charm is pretty self-explanatory, but that’s why it’s so special to me! I think this was a gift during my senior year of high school. Even though I don’t wear spikes any more, it’s nice to think back to my high school running.

Jawyhawk Charm

I’ve been a “fan” of the Kansas Jayhawks before I even knew what that meant. Now, I am a proud student of the University and am proud to say I will always be a Jayhawk! This charm was also a gift from my family when I graduated high school.

“Bretzeln” or Pretzel Charm

As dinner rolls are to America, pretzels are to Germany — Something that I really loved! I definitely got my fill of pretzels when I was in Germany last summer, so when it came time to choose a charm that would represent Germany, my decision was pretty clear.

Engagement Charm

Shortly after Dan put a ring on my finger, my mom follower up with a cute engagement ring charm. Now, I have two reminders of how much I am loved!

Even though space on my charm bracelet it growing increasingly rare, I am sure I will continue collecting charms for the rest of my life.

Question: Do you have any special collections?

I also have a little collection of bear figurines, which is a spin-off from my mom’s teddy bear collection.

10 responses to “Charmed

Leave a Reply

