Live in the moment

Whenever I think about how much time is left until my wedding, I can’t help but get a little ditty stuck in my head. Last month it was, “It’s the five-month countdown,” set to the tune of “Final Countdown.”

This month, it’s getting even more serious with the four-month countdown. Oh my gosh, oh my gosh, oh my gosh.

In case I wasn’t already thinking about it, The Knot decided to send me a little reminder…

Thanks, Knot.

Although I am really, truly enjoying all of the wedding planning (obviously), it would also be easy to allow it to consume me. To compensate for that, I’ve been replacing “the four-month countdown” song with a different phrase: Live in the moment.

When my thoughts wander, I rein them back in and think about what I am doing, experiencing, enjoying RIGHT now.

For example, instead of having a bowl of oatmeal with a side of blogging, I just enjoyed the flavors…

Consumed: 1/3 C oats cooked with 2/3 C water. Topped with a few frozen blueberries, blueberry jelly, sunflower seed butter and peanut butter granola.

A little while later, my friend Mandy came over to join me on a run. Instead of thinking ahead to the rest of the day, I enjoyed the way my body was feeling and the conversation I was having with Mandy.

After getting cleaned up, I packed up my books and went up to my new favorite coffee shop. The specialty coffees at this place are out of this world — all the flavor or syrups without all the heavy sweeteners. Today’s drink was raspberry coffee. I sure enjoyed it.

I also enjoyed spending my day in the shop, reviewing for my tests and casually snacking on my lunch.

Consumed: Steamed edamame, cashew cookie Larabar, an orange and an apple-peanut butter muffin.

A few moments later, I realized I wasn’t enjoying studying any more, so I headed back home. It was good timing, too, because Dan was free to come over!

Around the same time, I had a new-to-me flavor of caramel yogurt. Holy, holy amazingness. Best stuff ever.

With apple slices for dipping and peanut butter granola, it tasted like a straight-up caramel apple.

Back to Dan. His presence gave me enough motivation to do a little more homework, but we both called it quits mid-afternoon. Instead, we enjoyed the weather by going on an extended walk around the neighborhood.

With temperatures in the 70s and Dan’s company, I definitely enjoyed those moments…

For the past few months, the setting sun has reminded me to start making dinner. Now, I’m working on getting used to not only starting on, but also eating, dinner while the sun is still out!

Dan and I made sure to take advantage of the fantastic weather and sunlight by eating dinner al fresco.

Something about the warmer weather is also making me crave more colorful foods. And, apparently by “colorful,” I mean “green.”

Consumed: Sautéed garlic spinach, sautéed mushrooms with thyme and creamy avocado pasta.

I warned Dan ahead of time about the “mystery ingredient” in our pasta, but he said he was game to try it. To my surprise, not only did he like it, but LOVED it. In fact, the last thing he said to me tonight was, “You should definitely make me that pasta again.”

Guess he enjoyed that moment. Haha.

For the record, I loved it, too!

After dinner, Dan and I went over to campus to see one of Dan’s friend’s piano concerts. I don’t consider myself too knowledgeable about music, but I really enjoyed it all!

The best thing about all today was that, even though there wasn’t too much wedding planning, I feel even more ready and excited for my marriage. That’s what it’s all about.

Question: Do you live by any mantras?

I also love the saying, “Life is God’s gift to you. What you do with it is your gift back to him.”

9 responses to “Live in the moment

Leave a Reply

