I’m Irish, I promise!

Even though my dad is 100 percent of Irish heritage, you wouldn’t guess it by looking at me. For some reason, my olive skin and dark hair don’t really scream, “Kiss me!”

My one saving grace is my extra-Irish last name of McCoy…

But, I had a really, really weird realization today: This is my last St. Patrick’s Day with an actual Irish last name! How will people know I’ve descended from the land of leprechauns?

The funny thing is, my last name isn’t even supposed to be McCoy. To make a long story short, my great-grandfather was killed in a bar fight (how Irish is that?!), so my paternal grandfather was adopted by his step-dad when he was a teenager. Before that point, his last name was O’Day. Either way, it gets the Irish point across!

I made sure to kind of, sort of get the most of out my St. Patrick’s Day by doing… a lot of school. Today was the moment to make it or break it, the time to shine or stumble, the time to dominate my three consecutive tests or collapse into a heap of stress on the ground.

In my opinion, there is no better way to be prepared for such anxiety than to start the day with a great breakfast.

Consumed: 1/3 C oats cooked with 2/3 C water. Topped with mashed blackberries, sunflower seed butter and peanut butter granola.

Mashing the blackberries really let the juices flow. Love that!

Usually I’m pretty pumped up for my 8 a.m. running class, but I just wasn’t feeling the inspiration this morning. Still, I don’t like skipping classes, so I went. I did multiple hill repeats. I got extra credit. It was worth it…

Actually, that early sweat session helped me feel a lot better about the rest of the day. Funny how a little workout can really put my mind at ease!

The next few hours were kind of a blur. I think I had lunch at some point. I lived, though, and am now on official spring break.

Afterward, I went over to Dan’s to hang out. By which I apparently mean, “take an hour and a half hour nap.” Yeah… I managed to get up a little while before dinner and print off my very first Groupon purchase to “Ingredient.”

Ingredient has a very gourmet salad bar that I love, but those options also call for a higher-than-I-like-to-regularly-pay price. A $20 gift card for only $10 definitely made it worth it!

The restaurant also has a very casual vibe to it where you walk up, place the order and sit down. The problem with this is that there are so many options, I practically get stage fright when I’m up to order…

I managed to make my order in a socially acceptable amount of time and then find a seat. Dan came, too.

Look at him. No green? He’s just asking to be pinched! (Or “peen-ched” as he pronounces it.)

I, on the other hand, was prepared.

Note: I meant to be pointing to my headband, but then I realized it was going to look like I was fake shooting myself.

A little while later, food arrived.

Consumed: HUGE salad with bibb lettuce, roasted peanuts, fresh strawberries, caramalized onions, goat cheese, edamame and a raspberry vinaigrette dressing.

I’m convinced that Dan was worried about ordering a salad in time, so he went with an “easier” option of just ordering pizza.

Then, just as many of my peers were stumbling toward downtown, I went back to the safety of my home to watch some March Madness reality tv. I don’t want to fall victim to my great grandfather’s fate!

Questions: What’s your heritage? How did you celebrate St. Patty’s Day?

I’m just about half-and-half Irish and Austrian, but I think I look more Austrian.

Thankfully, I got some good green in with my dinner, but I actually ate more green foods the day before. Whoops!

6 responses to “I’m Irish, I promise!

Leave a Reply

