Happy birthday, Momma!

This day, a certain number of years ago, a baby was born who would later go on to greatness.

That was my Uncle John. Twenty-two minutes later, my mom was born.

As the youngest of eight kids, she had plenty of people to look after her and keep her in check.

Front and center.

And, even though my grandma “forgot” to send her to kindergarten, my mom did really well all throughout school. When the time came for her to go to college, she based her decision on a very important criteria: She chose Arkansas, because there was snow on the brochure.

Front and center again, with a friend's arms around her.

Once again, my mom naturally thrived. Something about her personality is just so magnetic — something that’s always been evident to me.

Fast-forwarding a few years, she really got her wish for snow, by marrying my dad and promptly moving up to Michigan. As if adjusting to winters that never get above freezing wasn’t stressful enough, she soon had a baby of her own.

Nonetheless, she still kept her glow.

Struting her stuff in a charity fashion show.

All through my life, that is one thing that’s really stood out to me about my mom: She just radiates kindness, inner- and outer-beauty.

She also encourages the best in my sister and me. Whether she was playing make-believe with me when I was young or pushing me to finish up an eight-mile run, she is always inspiring me to work harder.

Most remarkably, she does all of this without asking for anything in return. She is truly the most selfless person I know. Even when I am away at college, I know I can call her any day at any time. She’ll always be there for me.

South Carolina in 2008.

I often wonder how it is possible to pay her back for all she does. It hardly seems possible…

Yet, I know that if I live every day to my fullest potential, my mom will be proud. That’s the least I can do.

Love you, Mom and happy, happy birthday.

And, for the record, you’re pretty great, too.

Question: Did you parents come from big families? It seems to me that it used to be more common for five+ kids…

9 responses to “Happy birthday, Momma!

  • fitchocoholic

    aww happy birthday to your mom! 😀

  • Joanne

    Emily, this is your best post ever! Love, Mom p.s. my best birthday gift ever is the love I get from you, Marian and your dad. kisses and hugs.

  • Alaina

    What a beautiful post for your mom! Happy Birthday!! 🙂

    I actually come from a rather small family; both of my parents were the oldest of 3 and I’m an only child. My husband however, his dad was one of 5 boys and his mom was one of 6 and she was the only girl. I love being part of a big family!

  • Jess

    Happy birthday to your mom! I love the old pics.

  • chellesecret

    Happy birthday to your mom! It’s crazy how such great beauty runs in your family, I can see where the good looks come from. [;

  • Sara @ The Bucket List

    My mom was 1 of 4 and my dad was 1 of 5! That’s led to many many cousins and a huge family. I love it! 🙂

  • Jess

    happy birthday to your mommaaaa!!

  • Darilyn Christenbury

    I can testify to the fact that your mom is really great! She was my friend at Ark “back in the day”. We had some really good times! Last year when she came to our reunion in Fayetteville, it was like a day never passed! We picked up right where we left off in 1981 or so! What a blessing for you to have such an incredible mom– what a blessing for her to have such a beautiful and thoughtful daughter! Thank you for making an old Phi mu friend smile today!

  • mindrunningwild

    AH where have I been that you put up all these wonderful family posts? I love all the pictures you guys look so happy : )
    My mom was one of four- smack dab in the middle, and my dad was one of three, the eldest. Families used to be bigger then, huh?

Leave a Reply

