Easing back in

I’m all for easing into things.

Whether it’s lying in bed for a few minutes after the alarm’s gone off or starting off a run with a slow jog, I’m a fan.

Obviously, this also applies to the school week that follows Spring Break.

Monday morning, with no classes to actually attend, I still made myself wake up at my “weekday time.” (Did any one else’s mom make them start waking up earlier toward the end of summer? That’s when I knew it was all over…)

But, instead of going to campus, I just went down stairs and got going on a different kind of homework: making pancakes for breakfast!

Fluffy, Strawberry-Stuffed Pancakes

Adapted from Anne’s Food.

Ingredients:

  • 1 C unsweetened vanilla almond milk (or the milk of your choice)
  • 1 t vinegar
  • 1 T milled flax-seed + 3 T water (alternatively, one egg)
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 2 T sugar
  • 1/2 C whole-wheat flour
  • 1/2 C all-purpose flour
  • 2 t baking powder
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 1/2 t salt
  • Three or four large strawberries, washed and diced

Directions:

  • In a liquid measuring cup, pour the milk overtop of the vinegar. Allow to rest for five minutes.
  • In a small bowl, combine the flax with water. Set aside.
  • In a medium-sized mixing bowl, whisk together the sugar, flours, baking powder, baking soda and salt.
  • Add vanilla to the milk mixture and gently mix.
  • Pour half of the milk mixture to the flour mixture. Combine until milk is worked in. Then add the flax-seed mixture. Combine until that is worked in. Add the rest of the milk and stir until everything is combined and there is no more dry flour. Finally, fold in the diced strawberries.
  • Heat a skillet to medium-high. If it isn’t non-stick, spray with greasing agent.
  • Ladle ~1/3 C worth of batter onto the hot pan. Allow to cook until the edges begin to look dry and a spatula can easily run around the pancake’s edge. Flip over and allow to cook for another two or three minutes, until slightly firmed to the touch. Note: Avoid flipping the pancake multiple times!
  • Repeat with remaining batter. This makes 6-10 medium-large pancakes.

I complemented mine with a dollop of cottage cheese, some strawberry jelly and a light drizzle of pure maple syrup.

Almost like eating strawberry shortcake for breakfast!

A while later, I headed over to the gym for what I hoped would be a good workout. But, after thirty minutes on the elliptical, I was ready to call it quits. Still, I stuck around to stretch, do some abdominal work and run a speedy-ish mile on the treadmill. Good enough…

Then, to continue on with easing into things, I packed my bags up and headed over to a local coffee shop to catch up on work.

Plus, I grabbed a skim-milk latte for an extra boost.

Conveniently, the coffee shop that I decided to stake out at was located inside The Merc, Lawrence’s biggest natural food grocery store. Coincidence, huh?

Well, not really, considering I needed to pick up a few provisions for the dinner I planned on making.

Before I could start thinking about that too much, I first had to deal with lunch.

Consumed: One sliced Pink Lady apple for dipping in vanilla Greek yogurt mixed with sunflower seed butter and peanut butter granola.

Side note: Dan freaked out one day when I served him yogurt with peanut butter mixed into it. I’m obsessed, though! It’s perfect for dipping fruit into!

The other side of the plate was dominated by cheese.

Consumed: Whole-grain Cheez-Its, Kashi multi-grain crackers and a wedge of Laughing Cow Swiss cheese.

And, all together now.

Plus, I may or may not have followed it all up with a Nutter Butter, which was leftover from the camping trip.

A little while later, Dan was done with class (haha, he had to go!) and he called to ask if I wanted to workout. Feeling so sub-par about my workout earlier in the day, I figured a little more wouldn’t hurt.

I’m glad I went, too! Not only did I get to spend more time with Dan, but I was feeling a heckuva’ lot better than earlier in the morning. That’s what I’m talking about when I say “easing back into it!”

Post-workout, Dan and I had to go our separate ways for a while, as he attended to homework and I tried to get organized for school. I’m still getting used to not seeing him 24/7, as I did last week, so I eased the transition by inviting him back over for dinner. Besides, after my multi-purpose visit to the grocery store, I had all the ingredients for Mama Pea’s Sloppy Josephines!

Consumed: Sloppy Josephines on whole-wheat bread with side salad of Romaine, carrots, onions, balsamic-marinated tomatoes, feta and Honey Dijon dressing.

The most challenging thing about pulling this whole dish together was finding vegetarian-friendly Worcestershire sauce β€” the standard variety contains oysters. Fortunately, The Merc came through!

I loved getting the flavors of my childhood sloppy Joe’s, but with the vegetarian substitution of lentils. Dan definitely liked it, too. But, because the lentils weren’t added to the sauce at the end, I could easily make half of the batch with ground meat. Win-win for our veggie-omnivore family!

Afterward, Dan and I went out to do a few errands. Somehow he pulled up to Dairy Queen and it was like I just had to make an order. Sigh. I went with the mini banana creme pie Blizzard, something I fell in love with during my year without chocolate.

Back at home, I packed up tomorrow’s breakfast to-go, made a sack lunch and finished up getting ready for school. Bedtime is rolling around early tonight, because I’m going to sunrise yoga in the morning.

Ohmmmmmmmm. (That’s the sound of me still easing back into it.)

Questions: How do you ease into things? What are your favorite mix-ins to pancakes?

12 responses to “Easing back in

Leave a Reply

