Vegetable shortage

Here’s the thing: I grew up with a little stigma against Arkansas.

My mom went to the University of Arkansas, but she has always been outnumbered by Jayhawk fans in our household. On many, many occasions my dad, sister and I have teamed up to joke about my mom “calling the hogs.”

[source]

It never gets old.

Still, I must admit that Arkansas does have a few things going for it. Crystal clear water, great cliffs, scenic trails… The list could go on for a while.

Before my mom gets too cocky, there is one big issue I have to pick with the state of Arkansas: WHERE ARE THE VEGETABLES? Seriously, iceberg lettuce with ranch dressing really don’t satisfy daily vegetable requirements.

The good news is that my shortage of veggies took my attention away from my chocolate fast. Instead of dreaming about cake, I was imagining rich, leafy greens.

Ok, that might be an exaggeration, but it is true that I was c-r-a-ving some veggies when I made it back from the Orark’s depth. Fortunately, Dan was willing to help my quest to fill up on veggies — We went to Dillion’s grocery store for all-you-can-eat salad bar.

There were enough carrots, peppers, tomatoes and mushrooms to make my eyes well up with tears. It was a beautiful moment.

But back to Arkansas. Just because there was a shortage of vegetables, doesn’t mean there was a shortage of deliciousness…

Did you catch the little gem in my first camping post about how I ate peanut butter for every meal one day? It was actually a pretty easy thing to do, considering I had a container full of nutritious, delicious peanut butter muffins. A girl’s gotta be prepared.

Hearty PB & Berry Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 2 C white whole-wheat flour
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1/2 t baking powder
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/2 C sugar
  • 1/4 C peanut butter (I used chunky)
  • 3/4 C almond milk (or any milk)
  • 3/4 t vinegar
  • 1 T milled flax seeds + 3 T water (alternatively, one egg)
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 1/4 C dried wild blueberries
  • 1/4 C peanut butter chips

Directions:

  • In a liquid measuring cup, pour the milk over top of the vinegar. Allow to sit.
  • Mix the milled flax seeds with water.
  • In a large mixing bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.
  • In a medium-sized mixing bowl, combine the milk mixture, flax-seed mixture, sugar, peanut butter and vanilla. Fold in the dried blueberries and peanut butter chips.
  • In three batches, pour the sugar mixture into the flour mixture, mixing after each addition. Once everything is thoroughly combined, spoon batter into slots of a lined or greased cupcake pan. Batter should fill each slot up two-thirds way.
  • Bake in a 350 degree oven for 20-25 minutes, until lightly browned and firm to the touch. Allow to cool thoroughly on a rack.

I was a fan. Dan was a fan. The wild hogs would probably have been fans, if we hadn’t taken proper precautions.

And by “precautions,” I mean eating them all very quickly.

What? They’re whole-wheat! No need to feel guilt!

Plus, because they didn’t contain any vegetables, they were extra appropriate for eating in Arkansas.

Questions: Did you grow up in a “house divided,” i.e. Kansas fans and Missouri fans?

I think my mom learned pretty quickly that KU is the way to go! (As for the NCAA tournament, Idon’twanttotalkaboutit.)

11 responses to “Vegetable shortage

Leave a Reply

