Let’s talk about it…

When I woke up with the song “It’s a great day to be alive” stuck in my head, I knew it was — well — a great day to be alive!

Plus, my delicious breakfast sure didn’t hurt.

Consumed: 1/3 C oats cooked with 2/3 C water. Topped with mixed frozen berries, a spoonful of almond butter and strawberry jelly.

The fact that it was Friday didn’t hurt either. Without classes, I was able to use up my last free exercise pass to go to “Butts and guts” with my friend Mandy. The best part about these classes is that the instructors push me harder and farther than I would have done on my own. It’s easier to be motivated when you are surrounded by 20 people in the same pain!

As with most Fridays, I picked Dan up from his classes so we could grab a quick lunch from his hall and drive over to his hometown.

Although Baldwin is a great place, we aren’t just heading over there to hang out. For the past few weeks, we’ve been meeting with the pastor who will officiate our wedding for pre-marital counseling. Believe it or not, both Dan and I have really enjoyed this whole process. The pastor helps bring up subjects that neither of us would have otherwise considered.

Some examples have been:

  • How will we divide up specific household responsibilities? For example, who will deal with the laundry, the landscaping, the dishes, etc.
  • How do we expect our relationships with our parents and friends to change after we are married?
  • How will we deal with big decision, such as those regarding jobs, moving and finances?
  • What role do we believe that God plays in marriage?

Our pastor actually requires the sessions before he will perform the marriage ceremony, but Dan and I would have done counseling either way. From my perspective, if you expect to have a communicative, successful marriage then you must have an honest, informative engagement!

Even though it was Friday, Dan and I both had some homework to deal with, so we went over to Dunn Brothers Coffee when we got back to Lawrence.

My favorite part about doing homework in coffee shops is the change of scenery, which helps me focus more. Plus, the occasional treat doesn’t hurt…

Consumed: Apple coffee cake.

As usual, Dan had more homework than I did, so I left him at the shop for a while longer while I headed over to the grocery store. Even though I had new food to stock up with, I decided to clean out some of the leftovers for an easy dinner.

Consumed: Homemade pita chips, sautéed mushrooms and onions, hummus, carrots, edamame, mango couscous. (Plus chicken for Dan.)

All about ambiance, right?


Dan and I kept going back on forth on what we wanted to do that night. Go to a movie? Rent a movie? Hang out with friends?

Ultimately, we decided to meet up with a few friends at a newly discovered pool hall. Plus, our friends Lisa and Kirk are newly engaged, so we got to talk it up with them. I swear, I am (nearly) just as excited when my friends get engaged as when I did!

After a while of hanging out and letting Dan carry our team with pool (I was cold!), I went back home for an early-ish bedtime in anticipation of the 10 miles I have to do today…

It doesn’t seem like I’m stalling, right?

Sigh.

Questions: If you are married, did you do pre-marital counseling? If you’re not yet married, would you want to do pre-marital counseling?

P.S. Check out yesterday’s giveaway!

6 responses to “Let’s talk about it…

  • fitchocoholic

    Hope you get a great run in!!! 😀

  • alex

    we had premarital counseling…I really didn’t like our officiant at ALL but the counseling was great. We are now in a small group that focuses on marriage…. I think it is better than the counseling!

    those flowers are gorgeous!

  • Jess

    Not married yet, but I definitely want to do pre-marital counseling before I get married!!

    That breakfast looks delicious!!

  • CaSaundra

    I think it’s a great idea what you’re doing with the marriage counseling. It never hurts to get a “road map” for new adventures in life, and marriage is most definitely one of them! You guys will do great and everything will fall into place 🙂

  • Stephanie

    We didn’t, at least not in a formal setting. Both of our sets of parents have been married for 35+ years, so just sitting with them and talking helped a lot. And, it gets you on the same page on a bunch of things because you HAVE to talk about everything.

  • Wedding: The Ceremony «

    […] pastor, who we met with for counseling sessions throughout the engagement, was so genuine and kind in his words. He made the ceremony about Dan and […]

Leave a Reply

