Showing a little rebelliousness

Apparently, I was very good at listening to my mom when I was growing up. For example, every Halloween, she managed to convince both my sister and me that we hate Butterfingers.

She loves them.

I’m sure this is just a coincidence.

I also remember her telling me that I don’t like scones. It must have been the crispy outside and fluffy, crumbly insides… That just sounds unappealing, doesn’t it?

My mom so has my best interests at heart.

The thing is, I guess I’m going through a typical college student’s rebellious stage. But, instead of experimenting with special kinds of brownies (wink, wink), I’m really pushing the limits by making scones.

Sorry, Mom.

Strawberry Vanilla Scones

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 C whole-wheat flour
  • 1/2 C all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 C sugar
  • 2 t baking powder
  • 4 T cold buttery spread
  • 1/2 C unsweetened vanilla almond milk (alternatively, any milk)
  • 1/2 t vinegar
  • 1 T milled flax-seed + 3 T water
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 1/2 C strawberries, washed and diced

Directions:

  • In a small bowl, combine the milled flax-seed with water. Set aside.
  • In another small bowl, combine the milk with vinegar. Set aside.
  • In a medium bowl, whisk together flours, sugar and baking powder. Using two knives, cut in the butter until flour is slightly crumbly.
  • Add vanilla to the milk mixture. Form a well in the center of the flour mixture. Pour in the milk mixture and flax-seed. Fold to combine until all the flour is mixed in. Fold in the diced strawberries.
  • Flour a baking sheet, keeping more on hand. Also flour your hands and plop the dough onto the center of the baking sheet. Form the dough into a circle. Using a sharp knife, cut the dough into halves. Then, cut each half into halves. Finally, cut each quarter into halves. This will give you eight total scones.
  • Grease another baking sheet. Using a spatula, carefully move the scones to the new baking sheet, placing each segment of dough one or two inches apart.
  • Bake in a 400 degree oven for 18-20 minutes until lightly browned and firm to the touch.

Optional: I made a little glaze by mixing powdered sugar with a little almond milk and strawberry jelly. I don’t know what the proportions are, but a little bit of milk goes a long way with powdered sugar!


If this is what all acts of rebelliousness are like, I’m a fan. Heck, my mom might even need to find a new source for her Butterfingers this Halloween!

In other news, just about the time I was biting into the last strawberry in my pint, I realized something — I had eaten the whole pint in one day. Heck, it wasn’t even 5 o’clock at that time, so I’d gone through the whole pint in something like eight hours.

In my defense, they were strawberries put to good use with the scones, so I guess I didn’t eat all of them. Plus, I worked up a little appetite with a 10 mile run and immediately made a huge plate of food.

Consumed: Romaine lettuce, topped with mango couscous, edamame, goat cheese and orange slices, all drizzled with olive oil and seasoned with salt and better. Served with low-fat cottage cheese and strawberries.

Speaking of that run, it never ceases to amaze me how running double-digit miles is just another day in the life for some people. How are they able to do anything else? And, no, I’m not referring to hours in a day. I mean, how are they able to walk/function for the rest of the day?

I’m just glad that I am OFFICIALLY in taper period before my half-marathon in two weeks.

Now, if you need me, I’ll be lounging in my room.

Questions: Were there any foods that your parents told you that you didn’t like? Or, was that just me?

P.S. Still one more day to enter the book giveaway!

8 responses to “Showing a little rebelliousness

Leave a Reply

