Thought questions

I love StumbleUpon. Love, love, love it.

With great recipes, bits of wedding inspiration and random jokes, it is maybe the best way to waste time since Facebook. That’s sayin’ something.

Recently, I stumbled upon “Thought Questions,” a fun little website with conversation starters, such as this one…

For me, there are a few serious, weighty answers. In the past year, I’ve learned so much about who I am, what I want and what makes me happy.

Then again, there are also a few less serious, still life-changing responses. For example, just as with Butterfingers and scones, my mom also convinced me that I didn’t like coconut. I went about this way for the better part of my 20 years…

It wasn’t until I got together with a certain coconut-loving fiance that I learned, “Hey, coconut is actually pretty good.”

Now, I eat it in cake.

I eat it in breakfast.

Consumed: 1/3 C oats cooked with 1/3 C water and 1/3 C lite coconut milk. Mixed together with 1/4 banana and topped with other 1/4. Also topped with a little orange juice, fruit and nut trail mix and shredded coconut.

I even eat it in blondies.

Coconut Blondies

Adapted from “The Wannabe Chef.”

Ingredients:

  • 1 C lite coconut milk
  • 1/4 C canola oil
  • 2 T milled flax-seed + 6 T water
  • Zest of one orange
  • 1 C sugar
  • 1/2 T vanilla
  • 1 C whole-wheat flour
  • 1/2 C all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 C unsweetened, shredded coconut
  • 2/4 t baking powder

Directions:

  • In a small bowl, combine the milled flax-seed and water. Set aside.
  • In a medium bowl, whisk together the flours, coconut and baking powder.
  • In another medium bowl, combine the coconut milk, oil, flax-seed mixture, orange zest and sugar.
  • Add half of the flour mixture to the milk mixture. Stir to combine. Add the second half of the flour mixture and finish combining.
  • Bake in a greased 8×8 inch pan in a 350 degree oven for 35-40 minutes, until lightly browned and thoroughly cooked.
  • Allow to cool and cut into squares. Garnish with shredded coconut, if desired.

Woah-kay… After sampling these blondies, I’ve even upgraded my statement to, “Hey, coconut is actually very, VERY good.”

On somewhat of a related note, I’ve also learned about myself that I am horrible at being productive at home. Instead, I’m so much better at getting things done when I get a change of scenery — Such as with a coffee shop!

Lately, I’ve been frequenting a new-to-me place. It’s got everything I need: laid-back atmosphere, great coffee and tons of room to spread out…

There’s even a cute boy who goes there sometimes…

Dan and I both worked on homework for a good two hours before breaking for lunch. That may or may not have been the highlight of the visit. But, considering the sandwich was made with Great Harvest bread, can you blame me?

Consumed: Whole-wheat Panini with garden cream cheese, cucumbers, tomatoes, lettuce and feta. Served with kettle chips and a pickle.

After finishing up our coffee, Dan and I foolishly parted ways.

Chyeah, about that…

Within a couple of hours, we decided it’s best to work on homework together. Although we work on different subjects and are of little-to-no academic help to each other, it’s still nice to have the company.

Plus, I’d be thinking, “Hmmm, I wonder what Dan’s doing right now?” So, he might as well be sitting next to me so that I can see for myself!

Of course, it’s also nice to have company for dinner.

Consumed: Salad of Romaine lettuce topped with crumbled goat cheese and edamame, dressed with olive oil, salt and pepper. Served with an orange.

I’ve been loving this simple salad combination lately. Who needs expensive bottled dressing when you can get so much flavor out of salad toppings? I swear, even though goat cheese isn’t the cheapest cheese on the block, it’s well worth it!

Even still, the star of the show was a wrap that was SO HOT it couldn’t even contain itself…

Consumed: Whole-wheat Flat Out wrap with shredded carrots, edamame, Mexican-blend cheese, onions and hummus. Folded and toasted to keep it together.

I am proud to say that my attempt to keep my wrap together was slightly more successful than what Dan had to deal with…

Maybe it’s time to learn that I am just not a great wrap-maker. Hey, Dan, would some coconut help?

Question: What’s something new you’ve recently learned about yourself?

Notes:

6 responses to “Thought questions

Leave a Reply

