I would…

I’m in a personality psychology class this semester and one of the first topics we covered was this little thing classed “self-serving bias.” Basically, this explains how people think they are a little nicer, smarter, more attractive, etc. than they really are.

If you say, “I don’t have self-serving biases,” then that means you do.

Deal with it.

Personally, I’m dealing with it by recognizing all the weird things about me that would make someone else roll their eyes and say, “She would…”

I would… Find ways to integrate nut butter into any meal.

What can I say? I’m just working through my collection…

For breakfast, I was in the mood for something other than oatmeal, so I pulled some strawberry stuffed pancakes out of the freezer and popped them in the toaster, a la Eggo.

Naturally, the meal wouldn’t be complete without a mixture of peanut flour, cottage cheese and strawberry jelly smothered on top. Oh, and part of a strawberry scone.

I spent a while after breakfast dealing with homework, but I soon got restless and decided to bump my workout up a little bit. Sweat goes a long way toward making me focused… And hungry. So, after running four miles and speed-walking another on a steep incline, I headed back home and had a pre-lunch snack.

Consumed: Half a pita pocket stuffed with apples and Laughing Cow Swiss cheese. Served with rest of the apple.

I was fine with foregoing peanut butter for the snack, but that was only because I already planned on integrating it into my lunch. Which leads me to…

I would… Plan ahead.

Case and point, I’m kind of cheap. My straws, although inexpensive, have a bad habit of breaking and losing their suction powers. So, I account for this by bringing along a spare.

Yeah, this ain’t no smoothie built for two…

Consumed: Smoothie with one frozen banana, small handful of mixed frozen berries, ~1 C unsweetened almond milk, spoonful of crunchy almond butter, dollop of cottage cheese and some peanut butter granola on top.

I intended to get back to homework after lunch, but as I’ve mentioned, I’m just not successful at focusing at home. Instead, I packed my stuff up and went to the union to do some more work. The only problem was that my laptop needed charging and there weren’t any tables near an outlet.

I would… Do what it takes to get what I need.

I momentarily considered coming up with some excuse like, “I can only face west while doing homework,” to get someone to move out of a chair near an outlet. Eventually, I talked myself out of that plan an opted for simply moving a table halfway across the room so that I could reach a plug.

After a while of productivity, I was content with calling it a success, swinging by Dan’s to say “hi” and then heading on home.

I would… Fail to keep things simple.

Once home, I was quite ready for a snack. Not just any snack, but a good ol’ bowl of cereal.

I like variety in life. Especially when it comes to cereal. Dan often gives me a hard time about this, asking when I get a bowl of cereal, “How many different kinds ya’ got?”

Very funny, right?

Also very true. I love mixing it up!

Consumed: Unsweetened shredded wheats, high fiber twigs and (more) peanut butter granola. Mixed up and bathed in unsweetened vanilla almond milk.

Just as with the coffee shop effect and working out, snacks also help me focus. In this case, I was able to work on some more homework. Then, I met up with Dan’s mom to work out some upcoming bridal shower details. Before I knew it, it was time for dinner!

I would… Search website for foodie inspiration.

Half a container of ricotta has been chilling in my refrigerator for a week. I just didn’t know what to do with it!

So, I took to the computer and came upon a new, seemingly cool recipe for baked ricotta.

The recipe was simple enough (just ricotta + egg + orange zest), but I had to innovate a new method to drain the ricotta.

Bowl + strainer + paper towel + ricotta + paper towel + jar = Successfully drained cheese!

Because I was halving the recipe, I just mixed 3/4 C ricotta (all that was left) with one egg and most of the zest of an orange.

Then, I filled it in half of a greased loaf pan and baked it for about 25 minutes in a 375 degree oven.

It came out a little thinner than I imagined, but was still pretty good. Especially paired with garlic toasted bread and some steamed vegetables!

Consumed: Whole-grain bun with thin smear of butter and garlic and then broiled. Stir fry package of vegetables, steamed and seasoned with honey mustard, balsamic vinegar, salt and pepper.

But, I wasn’t done cooking just because dinner was done!

I would… Make full use of my resources.

Because the oven was already turned on and heated up, I figured I might as well make another round of granola.

Did I mention I finished the rest of my last batch in my cereal bowl? Yeah, it lasted a good few days…

Seriously. Best. Granola. Ever.

Heads up, I even plan on giving it away as wedding favors.

With my baking spree done, Dan came over to hang out for a while. We decided to take it easy by surfing the channels, but I was instantly drawn to the new “docudrama” about the Kennedy’s.

I would… Pull out my presidential reference books while watching TV.


You see, I am a little infatuated with presidents. Especially a certain 35th president…

Dan understands.

Now, Dan and I are planning some side-trips to take in Miami during our honeymoon. The obligatory Will Smith song is on…

I would.

Questions: Do you think you have self-serving biases? What “would” you do?

Notes:

  • The randomly selected winner of the book giveaway is Chelsey of “Clean Eating Chelsey.” Congrats girl! Email me with your contact information and I will get “The Book Thief” in the mail to you!
4 responses to “I would…

Leave a Reply

