True Lady

That’s right, folks. I am a true lady — at least according to the Elle Fashion Finder tool.

I don’t know how much I agree with this. Sure, I like soft fabrics and love lace, but you’re more likely to find me in running shorts than a flowy mini.

Personally, I’d classify my style as althetic-hippy. (Dan’s rolling his eyes right now.)

Sometimes I like putting on my peace-sign earrings, taking off my shoes and soaking in the wonders of nature.

Other times, I like to keep it low-key and comfortable with running shoes and shorts.

Either way, I feel as though it still holds an essence of “me.”

What about you? How would you classify your style? If you took the quiz, what did it say your style is?

I’m just glad *this* isn’t my style.

Yeah, that was a serious advertisement in The Kansan today.

Moving on.

Loading your breakfast with granola is kind of hippy thing to do, right?

Consumed: 1/3 C oats cooked with 2/3 C water, topped with lots of diced strawberries, cottage cheese, strawberry jelly and peanut butter granola.

It’s definitely a delicious thing to do!

School seemed to d.r.a.g. on today. I was so ready to get the weekend going! I did make it through it all, which included circuits at the recreation center track for my running class to discussing Nietzsche during Western Civilization.

The best part was having the time for lunch with Dan.

Consumed: A recreation of last night’s dinner with lettuce, shredded carrots, edamame, orange-scented Israeli couscous, goat cheese and olive oil with salt and pepper. Plus an orange on the side.

I also tried coconut water for the first time.

Honestly, my first impression was not so good. But, when I kept sipping on it, the taste kind of grew on me. The only reason I got it was because it was on sale, so I don’t imagine I’ll put it on my regular grocery list. Good to try everything once, right?

After class, I headed home with only one thing on my mind: COOKIES.

PB & Berry Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 C whole-wheat flour
  • 3/4 C oats
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1 t cinnamon
  • 3/4 C peanut butter
  • 1/4 C honey
  • 1/2 C brown sugar
  • 1/4 C unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 T milled flax-seed + 3 T water (alternatively, one egg)
  • 1 t vanilla
  • Peanut butter chips
  • Dried berries

Directions:

  • In a small bowl, mix together the milled flax-seed and water. Set aside.
  • In a medium-sized bowl, whisk together flour, oats, baking soda, salt and cinnamon.
  • In a large bowl, cream together the peanut butter, honey, brown sugar, applesauce, flax-seed egg and vanilla. Stir in half of the flour mixture until combined. Then add in the second half of flour and mix until thoroughly combined. Fold in peanut butter chips and berries.
  • Arrange spoonfuls of dough on a greased baking sheet, distancing them two inches apart. Bake in a 375 degree oven for 8-10 minutes until slightly firm. Allow to cool on a rack.

Oh, yum.

The applesauce makes them slightly doughy in the center, while the brown sugar allows them to have an incredible crispy outside.

(Insert me eating half of the batch here…)

So, I decided to keep dinner light.

Consumed: Fresh strawberries.

Consumed: Almond butter and banana smoothie with one frozen banana, unsweetened vanilla almond milk, a spoonful of almond butter with cottage cheese and peanut butter granola on top.

Now, I’m trying to resist going back for another cookie for dessert… But I think we all know how this will work out.

Friday Fragments: Considering the discussion about style, I thought it was interesting to read in a recent article that women are more likely to buy clothes shown on models who look like them.

My one question is: How can this be true? Considering that two percent of women actually look like models, this would leave to reason that practically NO ONE buys clothes. Right?

Anyway, I think it’s a good concept and is yet another reason to move away from the super-skinny model culture.

What do you think?


7 responses to “True Lady

Leave a Reply

