Hey, I’m a wildflower

All week-long, I was biting my nails and anxiously checking the weather every few hours. It wasn’t looking good. Sixty percent chance of severe storms on Saturday followed by and 80 percent chance on Sunday. Not exactly ideal weather for the engagement pictures that Dan and I had scheduled.

But, wonder of all wonders, the sun peeked through the clouds and blessed us with warmth and blooming flowers!

We spent two solid hours acting like models and hamming it up for the camera. I’m so excited to get the edited images back in about a week and just as excited to show them off to you all! In the meantime, here is a reenactment of my posing skills…

Let the anticipation build.

In the meantime, here’s a look back at some of the other on-goings this weekend.

On Friday, Dan and I had the usual appointment with our pastor. Afterward, I killed two birds with one stone by going by an appointment with our florist in Baldwin City. I felt totally lost about the whole process, but the woman was extremely helpful. Plus, Dan used to deliver flowers for the shop, so they loved talking about him.

The florist had a bunch of wedding flower books to scan, but there were so many options and it was difficult to envision the bouquets with sunflowers. Fortunately, I had saved a few pictures from The Knot of bouquets and centerpieces I liked, so I was able pull them up give the florist a good idea of the style I was aiming for.

I think she put it best when she said, “Ok, the wildflower look…”

Sunflowers will definitely be the focal points of the bouquets, but I also love the sprigs of lavender. That was my paternal grandma’s favorite scent, so it’s always been special to me.

The rustic look of the galvanized buckets is kind of fun, too…

The church we are getting married in is large, so I think we’ll just have flowers attached to the first four or five rows. Not only does this help with saving money, but even if we had more, they would just get lost in the big church!

I’m excited to see what the florist comes up with not only for my bouquet, but also the bridesmaids’ bouquets, groomsmen’ boutonnières, Dan’s boutonnière, the centerpieces, the aisle decorations, the mothers’ corsage, etc. There will be lots of flowers!

With all the action in the afternoon, Dan and I wanted to have an easy, customizable dinner. What fits that bill better than pizza?

He went with “Supreme” style with pepperoni, mushrooms, onions, red peppers and lots of cheese.

I opted for hummus, tons of veggies and a little less cheese.

We both rounded our meals out with some fresh fruit on the side.

Later in the evening, we went to some mutual friends’ engagement party. They already have their date chosen out for right after graduation, but before then, the groom will get a little practice as one of Dan’s groomsmen!

By the time I woke up the next morning, the temperature had already hit 70, so there was only one thing on my mind.

Consumed: Smoothie with half of a banana, unsweetened vanilla almond milk, frozen berries and almond butter. Topped with cottage cheese and granola.

I really tried, but I just couldn’t get motivated for a workout. I decided it was ok to give myself a break, considering I had run six miles the day before and have my half-marathon coming up next week. Instead, I walked up to the store to replenish my desperately low peanut butter supply. Win-win.

When Dan got done with work on Saturday night, we headed 0ut for dinner at 23rd Street Brewery.

One item on the menu immediately caught my attention: Hazelnut-encrusted goat cheese salad.

The generous round of goat cheese rested atop spring greens, red onions, mandarin oranges, lavash crackers and a raspberry vinaigrette.

It was h.e.a.v.e.n.

Still, I wasn’t about to turn down a few sweet potato fries with honey mustard dipping sauce…

And that pretty much takes us back to Sunday’s engagement pictures. As mentioned, I will share more about that as soon as possible!

For now, Dan and I are staked out at a coffee shop working on homework. I have a huge project due at the end of the week, so I’m bracing myself for a little stress…

Have a good Sunday!

Questions: If you are married, what flowers did you have? If you’re not yet married, what flowers would you want?

 

4 responses to “Hey, I’m a wildflower

Leave a Reply

