How we met

Have I ever told you the story about how Dan and I really met?

I know I mentioned it in the proposal post, but it really deserves attention of its own…

I lived in a residence hall during my freshman year. For whatever reason, there were a lot of engineering students on my floor, so I got to know them pretty well.

Meanwhile, Dan lived in a scholarship hall on the other side of campus. There, some of his best friends were engineers.

This led to us running in similar circles. We later found out that we even went to the same parties.

(Note: I’ve gone back and looked for pictures with him in the background, but the best I can come up with is this picture with his roommate Brad in the blue on the right. Supposedly, Dan was at that same party.)

Even though we frequented the same places, we just never met. This was probably for the best, too, because we both dated various people during that time.

It wasn’t until the middle of sophomore year that we were both single and at the same engineering party.

Almost as soon as I got to the party, I noticed a tall, handsome boy with blond hair standing in a group. I couldn’t help but steal a few glances at him and wonder, “Is he looking at me, too?”

As the night went on, the basement got more and more crowded, so I decided to escape it by heading up to the kitchen. When I got up there, I was talking with a few friends and we all realized we were hungry.

Ever-observant, I saw some bread on the counter and cheese in the fridge (someone else opened the door, I swear!). The wheels started churning, so I asked the house’s owner if I could make some grilled cheese.

With his approval, I heated the skillet up and made up a batch of sandwiches. Soon, the smell of cheese began wafting down the stairs. Sure enough, a line of hungry people started forming.

There was one person in the line that I really took notice of: The cute boy from downstairs came up to get some grilled cheese.

As people filtered in and out of the kitchen, the cute boy stuck around and we struck up conversation. Before long, the cheese ran out and I had to close down shop.

By my standards it was also getting late, so I went downstairs to say goodbye to my friends. Right when I was preparing to leave, the cute boy came up and asked me to dance.

“This is worth breaking my bedtime,” I thought.

A few songs later, we exchanged phone numbers and parted ways.

The next day, I got a text.

The next week, we went on a date.

The next month, we were official.

The next year, we prepared to get married.

Basically, I am forever grateful for engineers and grilled cheese.

Since that time, food has had a significant role in our relationship. Naturally, we had to include some home-baked goodies in our engagement pictures.

Orange-Scented Cranberry Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1 C whole-wheat flour
  • 1 C all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 C sugar
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1/2 t baking powder
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 3/4 C no sugar-added orange juice (an additional 1-2 T may be necessary. See note in directions.)
  • 1 T milled flax seeds + 3 T water (alternatively, one egg)
  • 1/2 t vanilla
  • Zest of one orange
  • 1/4 C dried cranberries

Directions:

  • Make up the flax egg by combining the milled flax seeds with water.
  • In a large mixing bowl, combine the whole-wheat flour, all-purpose flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt.
  • In a smaller bowl, combine the 3/4 C orange juice, flax egg, vanilla and orange zest
  • Pour the orange juice mixture into the flour mixture. Stir to combine. If necessary, add 1-2 more tablespoons.
  • Fold in the dried cranberries.
  • Either grease a cupcake pan or line it with cupcake liners. Fill each slot two-thirds way with batter.
  • Bake in a 350 degree oven for 20-25 minutes, until tops are lightly browned and a wooden skewer comes out clean.

For our engagement pictures, we packed the muffins up picnic-style, grabbed a quilt and had a faux brunch in the park.

It was precious. It was also delicious.

Question: Do you have a fun “how we met” story?

8 responses to “How we met

Leave a Reply

