Roll with it

It’s a rare weekend when I make it to Sunday night without a real visit to the store. But, that was the situation I was in last night.

Personally, it was no big deal for me, because I was more than content with a smoothie. The problem was that Dan was coming over. A smoothie for him just wasn’t going to cut it.

My first idea was to make pasta. But, I didn’t have any sauce…

My next idea was to make black bean dip and burritos. But, I didn’t have any black beans…

Then I thought maybe I should send Dan back his scholarship hall to fend for himself. But, I didn’t want him to leave…

I just had to pull it all together and roll with it.

Spinach Roltini

Ingredients:

  • Six sheets of whole-wheat lasagna 
  • 1 C frozen spinach, thawed and squeezed “dry”
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 C baby bella mushrooms
  • 1/2 C low-fat cottage cheese
  • 1/2 C mozzarella cheese, divided
  • 1/2 t Italian seasoning
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • Jar of diced tomatoes, divided

Directions:

  • Cook pasta according to box directions. Drain and lay out on wax paper.
  • Meanwhile, combine the spinach, garlic, mushrooms, cottage cheese, 1/4 C mozzarella cheese, Italian seasoning, salt and pepper and 1/2 C tomatoes.
  • Spread one large spoonful worth of filling on each lasagna sheet.
  • Spread 1/2 C tomatoes on the bottom of a loaf pan. Carefully roll each lasagna sheet up and place, seam-side down in the loaf pan. Repeat with remaining lasagna rolls. Top everything with remaining tomatoes and 1/4 C mozzarella cheese.
  • Bake in a 350 degree oven for 10-15 minutes, until heated through.

I sampled one and thought it was delicious for such a makeshift meal. I just couldn’t get my mind off a smoothie!

Consumed: 1 C unsweetened almond milk, one banana, one spoonful of crunchy peanut butter, squeeze of strawberry jelly, pinch of xanthan gum. Topped with cottage cheese and peanut butter granola.

Throughout the past few days, I’ve seriously gone from zero to 60 on the smoothie scale. I hadn’t had any for the past few months, thanks to Kansas winters and a broken blender. But, spring has sprung and I also sprung for a new blender.

In other words, smoothies are going to become mighty common on this blog. (Foreshadowing?)

Monday morning I woke up in a mood to be productive. I just needed to be properly fueled…

Consumed: 1/3 C oats cooked in 2/3 C water, topped with mixed dried berries, crunchy peanut butter and peanut butter granola.

After breakfast, I made some serious progress with my big project that’s due at the end of the week. It might just kill me, but I’m getting somewhere…

My mind can only take so much, so I took a study break to run J.C. Penney to look for some new leggings for my half-marathon.

I tried a few styles on and found one that fit the bill — and my bum. Score.

I had to give it a test run before the big race this weekend, so I geared up…

Then I hit the road for four+ hilly, hilly miles. I think the pants were just the boost I needed to conquer the route. Plus, the definitely passed the comfort test and will be making an offical reappearance for Sunday’s race.

Even though I felt good on the run, I was pretty starving by the time I got home. Good thing I didn’t have to spend much time contemplating what to make…

Consumed: Smoothie with 1/2 C unsweetened vanilla almond milk, a few ice cubes, one banana, handful of frozen mixed berries, spoonful of crunchy peanut butter and pinch of xanthan gum. Topped with cottage cheese, peanut butter granola and Kashi Berry Blossoms cereal.

Yay, smoothies!

I was motivated to be productive again after lunch, so I worked for a few more hours on my paper. Assignments like this one take a lot out of me, but I know it will be worth it in the end. I’ll share more details when I can — Unlike most school projects, this is actually interesting!

Later on, Dan and I were both at stopping places on homework, so he came over for dinner. This time, I actually had food to make!

Consumed: Black bean burrito with sautéed onion, garlic, black beans, green peppers, pineapple, cumin and a bit of salsa. Carrots and whole-grain chips with homemade guacamole on the side.

Unfortunately, reality beckoned after dinner and he had to head back to his place. That meant a night for me scanning blogs, helping myself to a little ice cream and catching up on a little Real Housewives. Important stuff, really.

Questions: What do you do when there’s no food in the house? In general, how much more food does your spouse eat than you?

When I’m alone, I’m content with some cereal or a smoothie. But, as a rule of thumb, Dan eats about three times as much as I do. He’s an active guy!

3 responses to “Roll with it

Leave a Reply

