Dessert hummus

Do you ever have those days where all you want to do is crash on the bed and fall asleep?

For me, those are called “Tuesdays.”

Even though I wake up around the same time on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays, it’s always so much harder to wake up on Tuesdays and Thursdays knowing I have to go to school. I managed, although I mostly contribute that motivation to the special breakfast I had waiting for me.

Oh, yeah. Oats in a jar.

I cooked some 1/3 C oatmeal in 2/3 C water as I normally would. Then, instead of pouring it into a bowl, I poured it into a nearly empty jar of crunchy almond butter. While it was still warm, I gave it a quick stir, stuck the lid back on top and let all the almond butter melt into the oatmeal.

So delicious. So, SO delicious.

Just to kick it up a notch, I topped it off with a spoonful of cottage cheese, dried mixed berries and a little strawberry jelly.

Then I stuck a spoon in it an entered oatmeal Heaven.

Once I came back down to earth, I geared up and headed over to my running class. I wasn’t very motivated to run, but I really didn’t have a choice. All I got to decide was whether I wanted to do a three-mile interval run or a 3.5-mile tempo run.

Crazy me went with the tempo. The run itself wasn’t the hard part, but we had to finish by running up on of the steepest hills in Lawrence — And that’s saying something.

As with so many workouts, I felt great afterward. Plus, I was looking forward to a refreshing drink I picked up from the grocery store the other day.

I actually haven’t had Kombucha since I was Austria last summer. Such a shame! It’s such a great, fizzy treat for me, especially since I’ve given up Diet Coke.

Sipping on the ‘bucha helped me get through my morning classes, but my stomach was still grumbling by the time I was able to break for lunch.

Consumed: Salad with romaine lettuce, edamame, cottage cheese, goat cheese, carrots, green pepper and an orange. Drizzled with olive oil and season with salt and pepper. There was also a orange and cranberry muffin hiding in the background.

I’m fine with going to classes in the mornings, but I find it so much more challenging to get re-motivated after lunch. Still, I grudgingly made my way to class. But, as soon as I got there, I had to turn around… We were having class outside!

Such a lovely day. Dare I say, I even got hot.

Yay, spring!

It was also the perfect excuse to help myself to a second treat drink of the day.

Consumed: Small, skim iced latte.

The only advantage of being on campus late in the day is that the coffee shops have happy hour with half-priced drinks. I’m easily swayed by a good deal!

Finally, late in the afternoon, I was done with classes and able to go home… Only to do some more work on my big project due this Friday.

Ugh.

Do you ever have those days where all you want to do is eat cookie dough for dinner?

Yeah, those are also called Tuesdays.

So, I did. Kind of…

Dessert Hummus

Adapted from “The Wannabe Chef.”

Ingredients:

  • 1 C chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • ~2 T unsweetened almond milk (or any milk)
  • ~2 T peanut flour
  • ~2 T peanut butter
  • ~2 T maple syrup
  • 1/4 t vanilla
  • Optional add-ins (I used peanut butter chips and dried blueberries)

Directions:

  • In a mini-food processor, combine the milk and chickpeas. Pulse a few times. Then stir with a spatula, add peanut flour, peanut butter, maple syrup and vanilla. Blend until everything is combined and creamy.
  • Scoop into a bowl, top with add-ins and enjoy!

That’s what I’m talking about…

Plus, there is so much protein that I’ll be full until dinner tomorrow. Or when I wake up. Potato, pot-tat-o.

Now it’s time for more homework!

Questions: Do you have a “treat drink?” Have you tried dessert hummus?

5 responses to “Dessert hummus

Leave a Reply

