Dressed up Dan

After today, I think Dan had a better understanding of what a TSA pat-down feels like. I’ll leave you to ponder that one for a few moments…

To switch things up this morning, I didn’t actually start with breakfast. Shocking, right? Because I’m running a half-marathon on Sunday, I didn’t want to deal with huge hills or anything that would make me sore during my running class. Instead, I “stayed home” to run 2.5 miles around my neighborhood.

By the time I got home, my stomach was more than ready for breakfast.

Hello, honey bunny!

As in Annie’s Honey Bunny cereal that I used to top today’s smoothie!

The rest of the smoothie consisted of 1/3 C oats, 1/2 C unsweetened vanilla almond milk, one banana, a few frozen mixed berries, a spoonful of peanut butter and a pinch of xanthan gum. In addition to the Honey Bunnies, topped it with some cottage cheese and polished off the rest (crumbs) of my peanut butter granola.

Unfortunately, I couldn’t justify skipping my other classes. Fast-forwarding through a long, boring day, I was finally freed for the weekend at 2:15.

It wasn’t destined to be a leisurely afternoon, however, because Dan and I had to run over to Kansas City for some serious errands. That is, if you define what we’re going to wear at the wedding as “serious.”

First up, we went to Men’s Warehouse to select the tuxes for Dan and his groomsmen.

So. Many. Options.

Who knew a black tux could come in so many alternatives?

Fortunately, the bounds of a formal wedding helped narrow our choices down a bit. The groomsmen’ vests and ties will all coordinate with the green color of my bridesmaids’ dresses.

Dan’s sticking with simple ivory to complement my dress.

Speaking of which, while Dan was answering a few questions, I ran next door for my FINAL alteration appointment. I don’t know how I got so lucky, but I didn’t need any alterations with the hem or fitting on my dress. All I needed was for the bustle to be set, so that I could get my dance on at the reception.

That made the whole process really simple!

The only problem is that, because most of my bridesmaids are in Nebraska, I had to pay attention about how to fix the bustle so I can help my sister when she’s responsible for the task.

A picture should help!

With my alterations finalized, I signed off on my dress! Crazy to think that the next time I’ll really put my dress on is for the wedding! (ohmygoshohmygoshohmygosh)

Then I ran back next door to lend moral support to Dan as he got “sized” (aka, patted down) for his tux.

Yeah, it just looks innocent.

After all the fittings, Dan and I decided to make an occasion of being in Kansas City by going out for dinner. On the way in, I spotted a bd’s Mongolian BBQ, which used to be my favorite restaurant. I just couldn’t resist!

Similar to other Mongolian-style barbecues, bd’s has an assembly line set-up. First, you go load up a bowl with raw protein, vegetables and sauces. Then, you hand it over to the master grillers, who cook it all up on a big, center-heated stone.

One thing that sets bd’s apart is that they set off blocks for vegetarians so that stray meat doesn’t migrate over. See if you can guess which dish is mine…

It’s kind of like dinner theater to see the guys all chopping and clanging around!

Plus the food is good and bd’s now offers brown rice, which I approve of.

The biggest downside is the high prices — more expensive than most Mongolian-style places, but with a smaller selection.

Oh well, I’m not really complaining.

The real highlight of the meal was reading the package of my chopsticks. Okay, let me know if this makes sense to anyone else…

No? That’s what I thought.

Dinner conversation went like this:

“Can you believe how much wedding stuff we’ve accomplished?” -EM

“I know! I mean, what else is there even to do?” -DG

“Well…” -EM

Still, I couldn’t help but agree with Dan about we are really getting close. Only three months (and one day)!

Questions: Did you know how complicated it is for guys to choose tuxes?

I now appreciate what my prom dates did even more!

P.S. Remember to send me your favorite chocolate recipes! I’ll repost them on my blog!

2 responses to “Dressed up Dan

Leave a Reply

