You deserve it

I’m not a person who can just go run 13.1 miles like it’s no big deal.

No, I’m a person who runs 13.1 miles and then wants to crawl into bed for two days. Unless there are pancakes — I’ll get up for pancakes.

Unfortunately, I didn’t have the luxury of lounging around today. I got my bum out of bed at 7:30 and got productive. At least there wasn’t much work involved in breakfast.

Consumed: Overnight oats consisting of pomegranate Greek yogurt and a splash of unsweetened almond milk mixed with 1/4 C oats and left in the fridge overnight. In the morning, it was topped with a spoonful of peanut butter and vanilla almond granola.

On the side, I had big servings of both water and coffee.

I’m not sure which was more helpful. Wait, I am. I’ll let you guess.

As if my sore (although not as bad as anticipated) legs weren’t enough of a reminder that I had just run a half-marathon, I sported my new t-shirt.

Love the technical t! (OMGoodness, is it bad I just realized why t-shirts are called that? They look like Ts!)

I did all of the homework that I needed to do and most of the homework that I should do. I also took a few stretching breaks.

Let it be known I can usually reach past my toes. Just sayin’.

After a morning full of work, I decided a smoothie was an appropriate lunch-time treat.

Consumed: Smoothie with ~1 C unsweetened almond milk, a few ice cubes, one banana, ~1 t chia seeds, pinch of xanthan gum, a bit of strawberry jelly and a spoonful of peanut butter. I topped it all off with a spoonful of cottage cheese and light sprinkling of granola.

A little while later, I took a study break with some new-to-me “Everything Bagel” pretzels.

(How much is that doggy in the pretzel? la, la, la, la, la, la, la, la!)

I guess there’s nothing like post-big-run hunger, because not long after that I was in the kitchen baking up something new.

Banana and Cinnamon Chip Bars

Adapted from Erin’s Food Files.

Ingredients:

  • 3 T buttery spread
  • 3 T unsweetened applesauce
  • 2/3 C brown sugar
  • 1 T milled flax-seed + 3 T water (or one egg)
  • 1 C mashed ripe bananas (approximately three bananas)
  • 1/2 t vanilla
  • 1 C whole-wheat flour
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1/2 t cinnamon
  • 1/2 C cinnamon chips

Directions:

  • In a small bowl, combine the milled flax-seeds with water. Set aside.
  • In a medium mixing bowl, cream together the buttery spread, applesauce and brown sugar. Add in the flax-seed mixture, mashed bananas and vanilla. Stir until combined.
  • In a small mixing bowl, sift together the flour, baking soda and cinnamon.
  • Add the flour mixture to the banana mixture. Stir until combined. Fold in the cinnamon chips.
  • Grease a 9 x 9 in. baking pan. Pour in the batter. Drop the pan on the counter a few times to knock out air bubbles.
  • Bake in a 350 degree oven for 35-40 minutes, until firm.

I figured that because I had run a half-marathon I deserved to eat these. But — heck — with those ingredients, really anyone deserves to eat them!

Something about bar-style desserts makes me better at controlling how much I eat. I think it’s because the evidence is right in front of me: If half the pans gone, I know I’m responsible. With cookies, I can just pretend there weren’t many to start with!

For that reason, I still had an appetite when dinner rolled around a while later.

The star of the show was baked tofu. I simply cubed the tofu, pressed it and then tossed it with an apricot-ginger sauce. Then, I spread it on a greased baking sheet and cooked it for 15 minutes.

Once out of the oven, I tossed the tofu with some diced pineapple for a little extra sweetness. I served it as an open-faced sandwich on two whole-wheat sandwich thins.

I had an apple and an unpictured banana bar to round it out.

Now, I’m thinking about moving onto that should do homework. But, in all likelihood, I’m going to fall asleep before 9 o’clock.

See you tomorrow with ENGAGEMENT PICTURES!

Question: How do you recover from big workouts?

Note: Just thought I should mention that I’m really, truly excited for the Lincoln half-marathon in two weeks. Now I know I can do it!

7 responses to “You deserve it

  • fitchocoholic

    I usually give myself a treat……whatever I’m craving at that moment!!! 😀 Can’t wait for the pictures!

  • Tessa at Amazing Asset

    I just stumbled upon your blog from the comment section of another and I am so glad I did! I can relate to so much of what you went through with the eating disorder related topics, as I am recovering from this now too. Your approach to running and food seems really healthy now, nice work 🙂
    I started my own blog recently, http://www.amazingasset.com, feel free to check it out if you would like and I look forward to continuing to read yours!

  • Jay

    glad to see you got some Chia in your smoothie and I would suggest that Chia would be better in your Banana and Cinnamon bar recipe than the flax seed. Chia is more easily digested in the body than is flax. That said, great site!

  • Jess

    Can’t wait to see those engagement photos!!

    If I ran 13.1 miles I’d be in bed for a week 😉 You deserve it!!

  • Alaina

    Those bars and that lunch look so good! I’ve only cooked once with tofu and I look forward to making other dishes with it. I think this one will have to be bookmarked! 🙂

    Can’t wait to see the engagement photos! I saw some on Facebook and they were so good!

  • Natalie

    Those bars look delicious AND easy! Yum…and yes, for sure you deserve them 🙂

  • Combo Cookies «

    […] Salad with Romaine, carrots, teriyaki baked tofu, pineapple and goat cheese. All drizzled with olive oil and seasoned with salt and […]

Leave a Reply

