Combo Cookies

I was in kind of a funk today — and the fact that it wasn’t a full-on funk made it all the more annoying.

Instead of “ugh,” I was more “ehh.” I just didn’t really want to do anything.

But, my schedule demanded I do everything. It just wasn’t the making of a good day.

Maybe my breakfast could save it…

Consumed: Breakfast Panini with two slices of whole-grain bread, one sliced apple, blueberry jam and crunchy peanut butter.

It was great. I was feeling good.

Then I started on homework.

It wasn’t great. I wasn’t feeling good.

On top of it all, I was itching to workout. Nothing strenuous. Just a little movement. I decided the best was to accomplish that would be going to my gym for some time on the elliptical with a new magazine.

It was great. I was feeling good.

Then it was time for lunch, which came in two parts.

Part #1.

Consumed: Egg sandwich with one scrambled egg and pesto on a whole-grain sandwich thin.

Part #2.

There’s a smoothie in there!

Consumed: Smoothie with ~1 C unsweetened almond milk, one banana, honey, xanthan gum, peanut butter and ice cubes. Topped with Honey Bunny O’s, vanilla almond granola and cottage cheese.

See?

It was great. I was feeling good.

Then Dan came over. I only got to spend a measly 20 minutes with him yesterday, so we needed some quality time.

We spent some time relaxing. Then, wonder of all wonders, I talked him into going to World Market with me. It was a blast, although I think he’d beg to differ.

It was great. I was feeling good.

Unfortunately, Dan had to get back to his hall and I had to get back to homework.

It wasn’t great. I wasn’t feeling good.

Dinner break rolled around awhile later. Once again, there were two parts.

Part #1.

Consumed: Salad with Romaine, carrots, teriyaki baked tofu, pineapple and goat cheese. All drizzled with olive oil and seasoned with salt and pepper.

Part #2.

Consumed: Lettuce wrap with tofu and pineapple. Two graham crackers with goat cheese and honey.

It was great. I was feeling good.

Then, more homework.

It wasn’t great. I wasn’t feeling good.

Notice a trend? I decided it was time to do something about it once and for all. But, the question was: What to do?

I’d already worked out. I’d already seen Dan. I’d even already gone shopping. What else do I like to do?

Oh, yeah. BAKE.

Combo Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 3 T brown sugar
  • 1/4 C buttery spread
  • 1/2 t vanilla
  • 3/4 C whole-grain flour
  • ~2 T peanut butter

Directions:

  • In a medium-sized bowl, cream brown sugar, buttery spread and vanilla together. 
  • Add in the flour, 1/4 C at a time. Thoroughly mix after each addition.
  • Roll the dough into a ball and sandwich between two large sheets of wax paper. Using a rolling-pin (or cup, as was my case), roll the dough out to ~1/8 in. thickness.
  • Using a small cookie cutter (or small rimmed cup, as was also my case) cut out cookie.*
  • Evenly place cookies on a baking sheet. Bake for 8-10 minutes, until lightly browned. Allow to cool for two minutes on baking sheet. Then move to cooling rack. Allow to cool thoroughly.
  • Smear a little bit (or a lotta’ bit) of peanut butter on the underside of half of the cookies. Top with another cookie.

*My cookies were about 1.5 or 2 inches in diameter. Baking time may need to be adjusted, depending on size.

I call these “combo cookies,” because they are perfect crosses between vanilla wafers and nutter-butters.

On the outside, it’s an unassuming vanilla-rich wafer.

On the inside is a generous smear of peanut butter.

Paired together, it is pure deliciousness.

It was great. I was feeling GREAT.

And this time, the feeling is here to stay — at least until I run out of cookies.

Questions: What do you do when you are in a funk? What’s your favorite lunchbox cookie, e.g. nutter-butters or vanilla wafers?

8 responses to “Combo Cookies

Leave a Reply

