Gym class

Good morning! If you are reading this, then it is Friday. That’s a reason to celebrate, if I’ve ever heard one.

Because Thursdays are my Fridays, I partook in celebration yesterday.

Consumed: Overnight oats with coconut vanilla yogurt and 1/4 C oats mixed in a nearly empty jar of peanut butter and left overnight. Topped in the morning with mixed, dried berries and a little granola.

Oh, yes. Eating oats in a jar definitely qualifies as a celebration.

Because of the half-marathon, I hadn’t been to my running class in more than a week — and I wasn’t exactly super eager to go again. When I break habits like that, it’s hard to get back in the swing.

But, I sucked it up and went. I’m glad I did, too, because class was a total throwback to elementary school gym classes!

We played bag tag!

We tucked two plastic bags inside the elastic of our shorts, similar to flag football. Then, we had to run around and try to collect other bags without having ours stolen.

Totally different from our standard tempo, hill or endurance workouts — and so much more fun!

Unfortunately, the rest of my classes were a bit more “grown up” in nature. I even had to take tests and stuff. The only plus side was that I got released from school early (to go work on an essay), which meant I got to eat lunch at home.

Consumed: Smoothie with nonfat carmel yogurt, unsweetened almond milk, one banana, ice cubes, xanthan gum and chia seeds. Topped with Honey Bunny O’s, granola, cranberry trail mix and cottage cheese.

After eating, I spent some more time neglecting that essay by going to Hobby Lobby. Then, I faced reality by picking up Dan for a study date at Panera — except we sat in separate corners of the room. I wanted window light, while he was content with back-of-the-store darkness.

It was kind of sad.

But I finished my essay!

Then it was time for fun, which came in the form of wedding crafts.

Today I was just experimenting with bags to hold the favors we’ll give to guests. When I was in Hobby Lobby, I picked up some miniature brown paper bags and some new stamps. Then I went to town…

It says “granola of love.” Our favors will be homemade granola. Makes sense, right?

Yes? No? What do you think of the bags?

I might play around with a few other sayings also. Variety is the spice of life, after all.

After washing an ink pad worth of black ink off my hands, I whipped up some dinner.

Consumed: Whole-grain Panini with apple slices and Swiss cheese. Side of hummus, everything pretzels and carrots.

Before too long, I’ll be going back for some combo cookies.

The plan is for Dan to come over later to hang out. Maybe a movie? Oh, I love “weekends!”

Question: What were you favorite gym games?

I don’t think I met a game I didn’t like! Ten-pin knockdown, dodgeball, kickball, Mission Impossible… I loved anything that let me run around!

Note of no significance: Last night, I finished reading a book called “Shattered Dreams,” the memoir of a polygamist’s wife. Crazy, crazy stuff. I’ll never watch a commercial for “Sister Wives” the same way again!

5 responses to “Gym class

Leave a Reply

