Kansas Bridal Shower

I got my first little taste of wedding pay-off today when my future sister-in-law hosted a bridal shower.

The end of the school year is always a hectic time with finals, high school prom, Easter, etc. So, scheduling was a little difficult. Fortunately, we pulled it off and it was a great turnout!

The shower was held at my apartment complex’s community room, which is a really fun space. My future mother- and sister-in-law started decorating yesterday, so I was warned not to creep around. I’m proud to say that I managed to resist the temptation to steal a sneak peek.

I’m glad I did, too, because they did such a cute job with my sunflower theme.

The biggest highlight of the event was when my mom and sister showed up — I had no idea they were coming down for the weekend! Such a special surprise.

Once everyone arrived, Claire, the hostess with the mostess, led us through a few fun party games.

Game #1: Bridal bingo.

Game #2: “How well does Emily know Dan?” When I got a question wrong, I had to chew on another piece of Hubba Bubba. Suffice it to say, my mouth was pretty full. In my defense, they were hard questions and Dan even admitted a few answers were misleading.

Game #3: Pin the wardrobe on the bride. I was blindfolded and had to tape a veil, dress, bouquet and ring on a poster.

Game #4: Charades with love-themed topics.

During games, we enjoyed a vanilla cake with thick, delicious buttercream.

But, before we dug into it, I had to go “fishing” for charms. I’d never heard of it, but apparently it’s southern tradition to hide charms in a cake. Each one represents something related to marriage.

To help keep the process clean and sanitary, there were little strings attached to each charm, so I just had to tug them out — and lick off the frosting.

Toward the end of the party, I opened up some presents. Honestly, I get a little nervous with opening presents because I am a wrapping paper-saver. It could easily take up to five minutes for me to open one gift.

Apparently my friends and family know me pretty well, because most gifts were in bags.

I loved everything! It’s so exciting to think that the little pieces of my house are coming together. From spatulas to measuring cups to a microwave, I’m well on my way to a happy, complete home.

Although I’ve never been to a bridal shower before, I can’t help but think this was among the best of ’em. Claire just did such a great job!

More than anything else, it meant so much to have my friends and family there with me.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: I’m the luckiest girl in the world.

Question: What kind of bridal shower games have you played?

I’m extra lucky, because my friends are hosting another bridal shower for me in Nebraska!

4 responses to “Kansas Bridal Shower

Leave a Reply

