Nickel and diming

What’s with all this dreary weather?

Seriously. There is a river running through my yard.

At least all the rain is turning everything green!

The rain put a damper on my morning plans. Rather than working out or going to the story, I enjoyed a leisurely breakfast at home. It was rough.

Consumed: 1/3 C oats cooked with 2/3 C water. Topped with dried mixed berries, vanilla almond granola and a spoonful of peanut butter.

I love taking those few extra seconds to artfully arrange the toppings and make it look pretty — but it doesn’t last long. I stir it all up before eating!

Aren’t you happy I don’t just post those pictures every day?

After breakfast, I spent sometime working on homework and various chores around the house, but I ended up getting stir crazy. I decided to throw caution to the wind and go to the grocery store even though it was pouring.

Even though I’m only going home for one day this weekend, I have a semi-cleaning out mentality. Only the basics from the store!

That brings me to what I think is an interesting subject: grocery shopping and healthy eating.

One thing that never fails to surprise me is how impressed people are with healthy eating. I have to spend time convincing them that the food I eat doesn’t just taste good — it’s straight up delicious. The key is just choosing foods that are both nutritious and worth craving. I mean, who want’s to eat healthy when it’s all rice cakes?

Unfortunately, these foods sometimes cost just a little bit more money. There’re worth it, especially when you know what you like. For example…

  • Mushrooms: Baby Bella mushrooms are about $.50 more per pint than the white button variety. But they taste so much better! Those 50 cents are definitely worth it to me.
  • Bread: Freshly made bakery bread is undeniably more delicious than prepackaged types. What’s more, packaged bread is loaded with preserving chemicals. If you can’t pronounce it, don’t buy it!
  • Peanut Butter: The same concept applies to peanut butter. There continue to be more and more natural varieties that are made with just peanuts and salt. Really, that’s all you need for tasty peanut butter.
  • Apples: I’m pretty picky about my apples. I’d gladly spend $1 more per pound of Pink Ladies than for mealy ones. Pink Ladies (and the occasional Braeburn) or bust!

In the grand scheme of things, isn’t health worth a few extra nickels and dimes?

Naturally, it stopped raining after I was back from the grocery store. (Read: After lugging my bags through the rain.) At least it let me get out for an awesome four-mile run!

By the time I got back, however, I was ravenous. RAVENOUS.

Consumed: Smoothie with ~1 C unsweetened almond milk, one banana, ice cubes, a scoop of chocolate protein powder and a pinch of xanthan gum. Topped with Kashi cereal (<< something I’m willing to pay extra for!) and a combo cookie. There was also an unpictured orange.

I couldn’t stand to look at homework any longer, so I started a new book called “The Romanov Bride.” It was interesting, but I couldn’t focus on that either — I just had to take a nap!

After waking up, fueled with an extra bowl of cereal and then went back into the rainy weather to meet my professor. My big project is so close to being done! When I got back home, I worked on edits while it was fresh on my mind.

Then it was dinner time!

Consumed: Salad with Romaine, chickpeas, cottage cheese and carrots. Dressed with olive oil, salt and pepper.

Plus and egg sandwich on whole-wheat with goat cheese.

Love it.

Now, I’m debating what to have for dessert. Chocolate creates so many more options!

Questions: Are there grocery items you’re willing to spend more on? Are you picky about any types of food, i.e. apples?

5 responses to “Nickel and diming

Leave a Reply

