Thank-you cookies

First of all, thank your to everyone for the sweet comments on my last post.

I could have never put it all out there — or made it through my eating disorder — without the support of family and friends.

Honestly, deciding to write the article and column was a dilemma by itself. Although I am committed to helping, it’s a scary thing to put it all on the line. I only had the strength to go through with it after talking with Dan and my parents and knowing I had their continued support.

I also wanted to thank the Academy designers and editors at The Kansan, who helped me with the final touches.

It was just a whole different feeling walking around campus today, seeing people with the paper and knowing they were reading (or skimming or ignoring) my story.

But, you know, thanking my editors is one thing — showing them that I really mean it is another. And what better way to do that than bring a batch of homemade cookies into the newsroom?

At least it started as a full batch…

Seriously, people gobbled these up faster than I could say, “Yes, they are healthy-ish…”

(Somehow I have a reputation as that girl who cooks healthy. Imagine that.)

I can’t blame them either. These were straight-up some of the best cookies ever. And I know my cookies.

Incredible Chocolate Chip Cookies

Adapted from “Smitten Kitchen.”

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 C sugar
  • 1/2 C brown sugar
  • 1/2 C buttery spread
  • 1 T milled flax-seed + 3 T water
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 3/4 C whole-wheat flour
  • 1/2 C all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 t sea salt
  • 3/4 C dark chocolate chips

Directions:

  • In a small bowl, combine the flax-seed and water. Set aside.
  • In a medium-sized mixing bowl, cream together the sugars and butter. Add in the flax mixture and vanilla. Stir until combined.
  • In another mixing bowl, whisk together the baking soda, flours and sea salt. Stir half of the flour mixture into the sugar mixture until combined. Then add in the second half of the flour mixture. Stir until again combined. Fold in dark chocolate chips.
  • Refrigerate for 20 minutes (optional, but suggested). Line two baking sheets with parchment paper or grease. Place tablespoon-sized balls of dough on the baking sheets about two inches apart.
  • Bake in a 300 degree oven (Note: That’s 50 degrees less than most cookie recipes!) for 18-20 minutes, until lightly browned.
  • Allow to cool on the cookie sheets for a few minutes, then finish cooling on a rack.

That should work as an adequate “thank you,” don’t you think?

Nope?

Well, guess I’ll have to make another batch.

Questions: Do you have a standard “thank you” baked goods? What variety of bake goods would you say you are most comfortable with making?

For me, it depends on the occasion. But, I’d say the majority of my gifts are cookies. That may or may not be related to the fact that cookies are MY favorite baked goods! For that same reason, I’m more comfortable with cookies than any other baked goods.

Happy wedding day to… my parents! They were married on this day 22 years ago!

7 responses to “Thank-you cookies

Leave a Reply

