In the Royal mood

On the 29th of April, a beautiful wedding took place…

And, while it was gorgeous, I’m not talking about that wedding in England.

On April 29, 1989, my parents were married!

Happy 22nd anniversary to them!

Fun fact: My parents were married in a small chapel at the University of Kansas. I walk by it a few times a week!

Still, I was in a bit of a Royal mood yesterday — The Kansas City Royals, that is!

I’ve been bugging Dan to go to a Royals game with me for a while now. It just so happened that his dad got some free tickets for a Friday night game with amazing weather!

I didn’t need a jacket even after the sun went down. Amazing, right?

I was extra excited because not only had I never been to a MLB game before, but I’d never been to a major-major professional sport game before! (I’ve been to pro soccer and hockey games, but never football, basketball of baseball.)

We got to our seats shortly after the first pitch was thrown.

Immediately, Dan started quizzing me on baseball rules. He was a baseball stud in high school, whereas I don’t know a pop-up from a home-run. I think I caught on pretty fast…

And, while the game itself was fun, I was a bigger fan of the company.

He’s a given, right? Well, Dan’s dad had a few tickets to spare, so we were able to invite along our friends Mike and Mandy.

We also took a gamble on going to the game and hoping we could find an extra seat for another friend, Abby. Fortunately, it worked out!

The game got going shortly after 7 o’clock. Before heading into the stadium, I snacked on an apple, but I also planned ahead by bringing a new-to-me granola bar.

I don’t know what’s supposed to be special about it. The fiber and protein counts were low, the sugar count was high and the ingredient list was long and foreign.

I still ate it, but I brought up my protein count with a $1 bag of peanuts.

I’ve been to some minor league baseball games before (Lansing Lugnuts, Columbus Clippers and Lincoln Saltdogs) and peanuts are always a necessity. I just love ’em!

Another highlight of the game was watching Alex Gordon play.

We’re both graduates of Lincoln Southeast High School, so I felt the connection.

The game started off slow. Then, the Twins started turning in some runs and things weren’t looking good… But the crowd was on the Royals’ side, so KC rallied to come back for the win!

Celebratory fireworks were totally necessary.

Mandy’s been going to Royals games for her whole life and said this was one of the most exciting! Although they say, “Root, root, root for the home team. If they don’t win it’s a shame…” I’m glad they did pull out a win!

More than anything else, it was just nice to go out and have fun with friends. Goodness knows I won’t be going too crazy tonight — immediately after he gets done with work, Dan and I are hitting the road to Lincoln for tomorrow’s half-marathon! Wheeeeee!

Questions: Have you ever been to a MLB game before (or any professional game)? Do you have a favorite team?

Ok, I kind of lied… My family sang the national anthem at a Detroit Tigers game when I was younger, but I can’t remember a thing, so it doesn’t count in my book.

3 responses to “In the Royal mood

Leave a Reply

