If you love, let go

Growing up isn’t always easy. Heck, it’s almost never easy.

That’s a lesson I’ve learned in time, as I’ve had my own trials and tribulations. Between crazy girl drama in middle school, pressures in high school and transitions to “adult life,” it hasn’t always been sunshine and roses. I always thought that I had it so tough…

But, my road’s been easy compared with that of my parents. That’s because, for all the stress I’ve felt, my parents have felt that same anxiety x 100.

I’m so thankful for it all the times my they’ve allowed me to talk things out, cry on their shoulders and take out my anger on them. Still, one of the most incredible things they’ve ever done for me has been letting me go.

I know they are there for 24/7. I know they are wiser than I am. I know they will love and support me in all I do.

Yet, they’ve let me make my own decisions and follow my own path — and letting me go like that is a challenge in and of itself.

I actually got thinking about that today because of a kind of random thing… Dan’s family released it’s 10-year-old turtle out into the wild.

Sammy the turtle was simply too big for his tank. He didn’t have room to grow or to play. The best thing for him was clearly to let him go. But, that didn’t make it any easier to do.

Would he eat well?

Would he make friends?

Would he be scared?

Would he be happy?

But, then, he ducked his head under the water and swam away… Only to resurface a few moments later, for one last look at the family that had loved and nurtured him for 10 years.

Then he swam away again and we could all tell he was going to be ok.

Plus, his family won’t be far away if he ever needs them.

So, thanks, Sammy the turtle, for showing me just how wonderful all mothers (and fathers) out there are.

The real purpose for being at Dan’s house was to celebrate Mother’s Day with his family. While his mom was able to take the break she deserved, Dan’s dad grilled up a delicious dinner.

Grilled Portobello mushrooms and vegetable shish kebabs for me. Surf and turf for everyone else.

Also, coconut cream pie for all! (My first time ever trying it — delish!)

We spent the rest of the afternoon hanging out, enjoying the weather and growing closer as a family. Truly, I’m a lucky girl to be marrying into such as wonderful group of people.

Questions: What did you do for Mother’s Day? What are some lessons you’ve learned from your parents?

A few last shout-outs…

To my mom, who understands me like no one else. She is amazing, beautiful, smart and everything I hope to be.

To my grandma, who is so strong, caring and resilient. I mean, it takes a lot to raise eight kids!

To my future mother-in-law, who loves unconditionally and made me feel welcomed the first moment I met her. She’s also responsible for raising the most amazing guy I know!

And, to all the other mothers out there!

6 responses to “If you love, let go

  • Joanne

    Thank you Mimi. You’ve truly made it (pretty) easy to be a mom. Love you!

  • christina

    aww such a sweet post. your mom is gorgeous! i just read her comment and it made me smile! 🙂

  • Lucy Glover

    We are so happy for you to be part of our family. Your a wonderful person. Dan could not have picked a better girl to spend his life with. Thank you for coming out yesterday and being part of Sammie’s bon voyage. What a fun memory!
    Love,
    Your future mom-in-law. 🙂

  • Sara @ The Foodie Diaries

    Yay Happy Mothers Day! My sister and I spent it actually doing a bunch of housework while my mom relaxed. It was a small price to pay for having such a wonderful, amazing mother!!! 🙂 Love this post!

  • Errign

    I spent mother’s day with my mom, which was a nice treat. I hadn’t seen her since October – visiting was great.

    This post was super cute. 🙂

  • Extended family «

    […] where Dan and I live. That means we get to go home for “weekend holidays,” such as Mother’s Day and Memorial Day. It also means we can spend birthdays together — complete with delicious […]

Leave a Reply

