Void in the blogosphere

I’ve noticed an interesting shift during the past few months. Rather than spending hours drooling over fantastical wedding blogs, I’ve been searching for more marriage blogs. You know, the part that comes after the wedding…

There are certainly some good ones out there. But, they all seem to fit into one of two categories: married life in early-30s or young married life with kids.

Dan and I don’t fit into either category. Not to go all “we’re unique” on you guys, but we certainly aren’t normal. In fact, he and I will be classified as nontraditional students next year. There is also no use in denying that we are young to be getting married — I’m 20 and he’s a ripe ol’ age of 21.

For us, this works.

I know we aren’t alone, either. I actually have a handful of friends who were either married or engaged during college. So, the question remains: Where are all the blogs?

Anyway, until I join the league of young, married people, I’m still living a mostly on-my-own life with breakfasts all for myself.

Consumed: Overnight oats with pineapple Chobani, 1/4 C oats and some unsweetened vanilla soy milk to thin it out. Left in the fridge overnight and topped in the morning with half of a sliced banana and some dried berries.

I was a little hesitant to make overnight oats with pineapple yogurt, because I knew that meant forfeiting my customary scoop of peanut butter. However, I’m proud to report it was still delicious and kept me full all the way until lunch. Thank goodness for all the protein in Greek yogurt!

Shortly after 8 o’clock, I met up with my friend Mandy for a 3-ish mile run. We managed to beat the worst of the day’s heat, but it was already incredibly humid. What happened to spring? I think Kansas hopped straight from winter to summer!

After a morning full of chores and homework I would have preferred to avoid, it was time for a two-part lunch.

Consumed: Smoothie with unsweetened vanilla soy milk, one frozen banana, two frozen strawberries and a spoonful of peanut butter. Topped with a handful of Kashi GoLean cereal.

And part #2 for the colors!

Consumed: Steamed edamame and raw carrots.

While I was outside photographing the meal, I noticed there was a special letter addressed to me waiting in the mailbox. Wheeee! (Isn’t that one of the best feelings?)

The first thing I noticed was the cute little sunflower stamp on the back…

Then, I opened to up to find and invitation to…

(That would be me!)

It brought a huge smile to my face! My friends are THE best, so I can’t wait!

I had some errands to run during the afternoon, including a stop by the grocery store to pick up goods for the night’s dinner. I am going to have to get serious about meal planning next year, or else I’ll be going to the store every day!

The thing is, I’m usually able to piece meals together for myself pretty well. But, Dan has a little bit bigger of an appetite than me. Because I also respect his decision to eat meat, I’m working on cooking some new dishes.

It’s actually not too bad. Take this dinner for example…

I used half of packet of taco seasoning on some diced beef for him and stirred the other half of the packet into quinoa for me. Then, we had a build-your-own taco bar!

I was low on tortillas, so I actually stuck with a taco salad.

Consumed: Lettuce with taco-seasoned quinoa, edamame, roasted red peppers, avocados, Swiss cheese and fresh oranges and strawberries. All dressed with olive oil, salt and pepper.

Although I loved all of the components, the star of the show was the avocado + Swiss.

I ended up wrapping the avocado slices up in the cheese. It was “taco style,” so I guess it was appropriate!

Now, if only I can make all meals this easy for him + her, I think this marriage is really going to work.

Questions: What do you think is a good age to get married?

Do YOU have any questions for me about getting married young? I plan on writing more about it…

8 responses to “Void in the blogosphere

  • Cara @ EAT. PRAY. RUN.

    I think everyone is different and there is no saying what is right or long. In my eyes a perfect love is one that is centered around God and you can trust the rest to Him 🙂 You definitely mature ALOT in your twenties but as long as you and your soon to be hub grow together, it will be an incredible journey i’m sure!

  • fitchocoholic

    All of that food looks sooo good!!!!! 😀
    Hope you have a great day!

  • amanda

    I think it is so weird that I wrote about love and my young marriage yesterday too!
    So with out getting all morbid on you, BECAUSE I AM NOT, and being in love ROCKS, I would just like to offer my best thoughts: I married at 21- it was magical. The reason why it ended for us, or me, was because I didn’t take time to establish myself before the marriage. I was so obsessed and enmeshed in my ED that it became my identity when I wasn’t “wife”. I learned that it doesn’t matter WHAT age yoou are, just make sure you establish your autonomy before become wife.
    marriage is amazing. There were months that I felt sorry for myself until my therapist recently got me to realize I didn’t fail at it, I just wasn’t being good to myself- I never put myself first.
    I think you seem to have a really great head on your shoulders. As long as you remind yourself that things wont always be perfect or turn out the way you may want (I say this bc I know you joked about your perfectionism in a recent post 😉 ) everything will turn out great…
    you know why I don’t think there are as many marriage blogs for you to” fit’ into? Bc aside from children being a common denominator, all marriages are so unique and different. Its YOUR friendship, union and love that is unique to you two…that’s why I think most are about married with kids, etc….

    I love your blog. I read it every morning. I find you inspirational and lovely. I hope you’ve checked mine out too 😉 great post! Xo

    • pursuitofhealthfulness

      Thank you so much for this fantastic comment! I 100% agree that it’s important to for he and me to remain somewhat “he” and “me.”

      I do love your blog, too. For me, it was important to be open about my struggle in order to grow and I see that it’s the same for you!

  • Katelyn Johnson

    It will probably be 24-25 for me but I would go for 22

  • Natalie

    I’ve never thought of quinoa as a meat alternative in taco salad…such a great idea!!

    To be honest, I think it really depends on the strength of the relationship! So many people are “old for their age” or “immature for their age” and I think those factors play a larger role than the actual ages of the people. That’s just my two cents 🙂

  • Stop Day Eve «

    […] Leftover taco-seasoned quinoa, edamame, carrots and goat cheese. An orange on the […]

Leave a Reply

