Stop Day Eve

At my school, we have what’s called “Stop Day” on the Friday before finals week. There’s no class on this day with the idea being that students will take the time to party study. Do other schools do that?

So, as I am writing this on Thursday night, I am officially done with classes for my junior year of college. Granted I have two finals, but those are just frivolous details at this point…

Rewinding to this morning, I actually feel really bad and don’t even want to admit this — but, I legitimately overslept my first class. I vaguely remember my alarm going off shortly after 6 and I fumbled around with the buttons. Next thing I knew, it was 8 o’clock, meaning my running class had officially begun.

Whoops.

I really felt bad, too, because one of my friends was in the class and we usually run together. I texted her as soon as I woke up to explain that I overslept… One minute later, I got a text from her saying she did the same thing! That made me feel a little better.

That helped me feel a little bit more at ease while eating my breakfast.

Consumed: Overnight oats with nonfat caramel yogurt, 1/4 C oats and 1 t chia seeds, all mixed up and left in the fridge overnight. Topped in the morning with half of a sliced banana and a spoonful of peanut butter.

As if it needs mentioning, I’ve really been loving overnight oats lately. Maybe it has to do with the heat wave. It definitely has to do with how delicious and simple the breakfast is.

Shortly after breakfast, I decided it would be best to actually go to the rest of my classes. For nostalgia’s sake, of course.

During my lunch break, I hunkered down in the journalism school to work on one of my few remaining assignments. The finish line to the school year is just teasing me with how close it is. I just want to get it all over with!

Partway through, I paused for lunch.

Consumed: Leftover taco-seasoned quinoa, edamame, carrots and goat cheese. An orange on the side.

For a little sweetness, I had a small bit of dried berries and dark chocolate chips.

Then I wrapped up my very last class. It was fantastic, although it ended on a less-than-optimistic note by reading “All But My Life,” a Holocaust survivor’s memoir. I actually made it through the book in less than three days, because I couldn’t get myself to put it down. I was fortunate enough to have an incredible high school teacher, who created a high school curriculum for Holocaust literature. We even made a mid-semester trip to the Holocaust Museum in Washington D.C. and were able to meet with a Holocaust survivor.

I digress.

Shortly after I got home, I realized I was quite hungry. ( I was going to say “starving,” but I figured that wouldn’t be appropriate, given the previous paragraph.)

Consumed: Cinnamon-baked apple with unsweetened vanilla soy milk, peanut butter and Kashi GoLean cereal.

I had the afternoon to myself, as Dan was out playing golf with some friends. Naturally, I spent the time —ahem— studying… And taking a shameless self-photograph.

Or two.

I swear it was just to show off how “summery” I thought my outfit was!

Later, Dan picked me up for dinner. It was just so delicious that I failed to take pictures. Don’t ask.

Question: What is the “official start of summer” to you?

6 responses to “Stop Day Eve

  • Lucy Glover

    Yea,warm great weather is finally here!! You look beautiful.

  • Stefanie@RUNON

    Um, so you are adorable, and I’m already in love with your blog. I actually got married when I was 18! GASP. It’s funny because I always thought the shock value of it would decrease over time, but alas’, it hasn’t. Oh well, I’m happy and that is all that matters!! Ok…I have heard a lot about overnight oats, but I really don’t know anything about them. It looks good though. Might have to Google…:) So glad you found my blog!!

  • Marina

    you look stunning!
    Summer fruit always screams summer to me, like watermelons and peaches. Also, long days and beautiful sunsets 🙂
    Aah, can’t wait for summer to come 🙂

  • Tessa @ Amazing Asset

    Girl, you look great! I love the color of your shirt
    It is officially summer to me when I am out of school (moving out of the dorm today!), the beach is welcoming once again, and fresh fruit no longer costs and arm and a leg 🙂

  • Tori (Fresh Fruition)

    Bananas and peanut butter are the best toppings for oats! I love this combo.

  • Jess

    That breakfast looks SUPER delicious!!

Leave a Reply

